EndNote Software: Beginner's Guide

EndNote X Library Basics

• A library is a collection of references.  Each reference is stored as an individual record with different data fields for author, title, etc.
• We recommend that you store all your references in one or two libraries and use Groups and Group Sets (see below) to organize and categorize references.
• While there is no limit to the number of references that can be stored in one library, we suggest that the number not exceed 100,000.

Creating a Library

1. Open EndNote X.  In the dialog box that appears, select Create a new library OR from the menu bar, select File > New.  
2. The New Reference Library dialog box will appear.  Enter a name for your new library.  EndNote will automatically add the .ENL extension, which stands for EndNote Library.
3. Choose where you would like to save your new library. 
4. Click the Save button.  The new EndNote library appears. 

Opening a Library

1. Open EndNote X. In the dialog box that appears, select Open an existing library OR from the menu bar, select File > Open. 
2. A list of libraries that you have previously opened will be displayed.  Select the library that you wish to open.  If the library does not appear in the list, click Open Library...
3. The Select a Reference Library dialog box will appear.  Locate your library and click the Open button. 

Group and Group Set Basics

• Groups are subsets, or folders, used to categorize and organize references.  Groups can be organized into Group Sets.
• The Groups panel in the left column of the library window displays all the Groups and Group Sets in your library.
• Automatic Groups cannot be changed.  The Automatic Groups are: All References, Unfiled and Trash.
• Custom Groups and Group Sets are created by you. You can create up to 5,000 Groups in a library.

Groups Panel in EndNote

Creating Groups and Group Sets

• To create a Group or Group Set, select Groups from the menu bar.  Select Create Group or Create Group Set. 
• The new Group or Group Set will appear in the Groups panel in the left column.
• Enter a name for your new Group or Group Set.

Back to Top

• Viewing and Editing References
•  Many times an imported reference has capitalization issues, among other issue, which you need to edit before using in a bibliography.
  • To view a reference, double-click on its line in your library.
  • The Reference window will open. 
  • Here, you can view, edit or enter information (Notes) for the reference
  • To edit: Click in any field (e.g. author, title) and make the necessary corrections
  • To save changes to the reference, select File > Save from the menu, or Ctrl + S on your keyboard.
     
• Adding References to a Group
  • In the library window, click on the references that you wish to move.  To select multiple references:
    • Hold down the Ctrl key while clicking on individual references OR
    • Select a range of references by clicking the first reference, then press the Shift key and click the last reference in the range.
  • Three options to add references to a Group:
    • Right click on your mouse and select Add References To from the list of options that appear.  Select the Group to which you wish to add your references.
    • Select Groups > Add References To from menu bar.  Select the Group to which you wish to add your references.
    • Drag selected references and drop them in the Group.
  • The number next to the Group that you have chosen will change, indicating that you successfully added the selected references to that Group.
     
• Removing References from a Group
  • In the library window, click on the references that you wish to remove.  To select multiple references:
    • Hold down the Ctrl key while clicking on individual references OR
    • Select a range of references by clicking the first reference, then press the Shift key and click the last reference in the range.
  • Three options to remove references from Group:
    • Right click on your mouse and select Remove References From Group
    • Select Groups > Remove References From Group from menu bar
    • Press Ctrl + D on your keyboard
  • The references will be removed from the Group.  They will NOT be deleted from your library.
     
• Deleting References from a Library
  • In the library window, click on the references that you wish to delete.  To select multiple references:
    • Hold down the Ctrl key while clicking on individual references OR
    • Select a range of references by clicking the first reference, then press the Shift key and click the last reference in the range.
  • Three options to delete references from your library:
    • Right click on your mouse and select Move References to Trash
    • Select References > Move References to Trash from menu bar
    • Drag selected references and drop them in Trash Group in the left column
  • The Trash Group contains references that you have deleted from your library.  When you are confident that you wish to permanently delete the references in the Trash from your library, do one of the following:
    • Select References > Empty Trash from the menu bar
    • Click on the Trash Group in the Groups panel, then right click on your mouse and select Empty Trash
  • If you do not actively Empty Trash, you will be prompted to do so when you close the EndNote library.

Back to Top

File Attachment Basics

• You can attach any file from your computer (PDF, Word document, etc.) to an EndNote reference.
• Up to 45 files can be attached to a single reference.

Attach a File - Two methods

1. Drag & Drop

• Select a reference in the library or Open a reference
• Find the PDF (or other files) on your computer
• Drag PDF from computer into EndNote reference

OR

2. Browse for file

• Click on a reference in the library window to highlight it.
• Select References > File Attachments > Attach File... (alternatively, you can right click on the reference and select File Attachments > Attach File...)
• In the dialog box that opens, select file that you wish to attach.
• Choose how you would like EndNote to attach the file by either checking or unchecking the box next to "Copy this file to the default attachments folder and create a relative link"
  • Box checked: EndNote makes copy of original file and places it in the EndNote library folder, so the file is part of the library.
  • Box unchecked: EndNote will look in the original folder for the attached file.  This is helpful if you plan to edit the file and want those changes reflected when you access the file.  However, the file will not be accessible if you move it to another folder or share your library.
• Click Open.
• The file is now attached to your reference.  For more information on reading and annotating PDFs in EndNote, see Working with PDFs.

File Attachment Dialog Box

Back to Top

What is Find Full Text?
EndNote uses data stored in your references to search the Web for the corresponding full text file as a PDF or URL.  Once found, the file is automatically downloaded and attached to the appropriate reference.

Find Full Text

1. In your EndNote library, click on the reference(s) for which you would like to find full text files.  To select multiple references:
   • Hold down the Ctrl key while clicking on individual references OR
   • Select a range of references by clicking the first reference, then press the Shift key and click the last reference in the range.
2. Select the Find Full Text button in the toolbar along the top. 
3. Enter you NetID info in the pop-up box and select Continue button
4. Select Yes in the next pop-up box
5. Select Continue again

• A search script will appear under Find Full Text in the Groups panel in the left column.  This indicates the number of PDFs or URLs that EndNote was able to find.
• A paperclip (attachment) appears next to a record when the PDF is found
• You can select Found PDF or Found URL in the Groups panel in the left column to view the references for which full text files were found.
• The PDFs successfully found by EndNote are automatically downloaded and attached to the appropriate reference.

EndNote Groups Panel with Find Full Text

Not Finding Full Text?
You may not get the full text even if UNM Libraries provide access to the article.  There are a few reasons for this...

• EndNote does not have agreements with all the publishers to allow the Find Full Text feature, so even if the library subscribes to a journal, it does not necessarily mean that the publisher will allow the full text to be grabbed by EndNote.
• Article is too new and PDF link is not yet available.
• Journal has embargoed current articles so EndNote cannot get it.
• Article is buried in a large full-text database that does not allow individual articles to be found.

Manually attach: If the full text is not found using Find Full Text, then you can manually attach the PDF to your references.

Back to Top

Saving a Library Basics

• EndNote automatically saves changes to your library as you work with it.
• To back up your library or save it on an external device for use on another computer, we recommend that you save a Compressed Copy.

Saving a Library

• Open the EndNote library that you wish to save.
• From the menu bar, select File > Compressed Library (.enlx)...
• The Compressed Library (.enlx) dialog box will appear.  Click on the radio button to choose the desired options:
  • Create or Create & Email
  • With File Attachments or Without File Attachments: If you choose to to save your library With File Attachments, then all PDF files, with annotations, that are attached to your references will be included the saved library.  If you choose Without File Attachments, then the saved library will not include PDF files that are attached to your references.
  • All References in Library, Selected References or All References in Group/Group Set:
• Once you have selected your desired options, click Next.

Compressed Library (.enlx) Dialog Box

• The Save Compressed Library (.enlx) dialog box will appear.  Choose where you would like to save your library.  Click Save.
• To open a Compressed library:
  • Open EndNote.  Select File > Open.  Click Open Library...
  • The Select a Reference Library dialog box will appear.  Locate your Compressed library and click the Open button.

Back to Top

Find Duplicates

• Open the EndNote library
• In the Groups panel in the left column, click on All References to display all the references in your library.
• From the menu bar, select References > Find Duplicates.
• If you have duplicate references in your library, the Find Duplicates dialog box will appear.  For each set of duplicates, you have the following options:
  • Click Keep This Record to save the preferred reference and discard the other in the trash.
  • Click Skip to leave both references in the library. The references will be placed in a temporary Duplicate References group for later review.

Find Duplicates Dialog Box

Defining a Journal Abbreviation Term List for a New Library

• We recommend that you define the Journal term list for each new library.  This helps ensure that all journal names and abbreviations are consistent.
• In your new library, select Tools > Define Terms Lists... from the menu bar.  The Term Lists dialog box will open.

Open Term Lists

• • In the Lists tab, highlight Journals, then click the Import List... button.  A dialog box will open displaying the available term lists in your EndNote Program Files. 

Term Lists Dialog Box

• • Select the term list you wish to import.  Click Open.  An Updating Term Lists box will appear and, once the update is complete, a different box will display the number of terms inserted into the Journals term list.  Repeat for each term list that you wish to add.  Click Close when you have finished.
     

Defining Term Lists for an Existing Library

• If you did not define your Journals term list when you created your library, then your term list has been created automatically as you enter new references into your library (whether by importing or manually entering them).  To ensure consistency and accuracy, we recommend that you discard your existing Journal term list and import Journal term lists from EndNote.
• Open your EndNote Library.  Select Tools > Define Terms Lists... from the menu bar.  The Term Lists dialog box will open.
• We recommend that you delete all the existing terms in your Journals term list.  To do this, in the Lists tab, highlight Journals. Then select the Terms tab.  Highlight all the terms by selecting Ctrl + A on your keyboard.  Click the Delete Term button. 

Delete Terms

• • Now, you are ready to import term lists.  Return to the Lists tab. Click the Import List... button.  A dialog box will open displaying the available term lists in your EndNote Program Files. 
  • Select the term list you wish to import.  Click Open.  An Updating Term Lists box will appear and once the update is complete, a different box will display the number of terms inserted into the Journals term list. Repeat for each term list that you wish to add.  Click Close when you have finished.

Back to Top