- 18th Connect
Partner to NINES. Research, archives, bibliographies, and digitization projects for 18th century literature and history.
- American Memory
Library of Congress digital project: "written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."
- American Verse Project
The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
Online versions of notable reference, literary, and nonfiction works.
Over 2,000 classic texts.
Extensive selection of free textbooks, business, and travel. In PDF format.
- British Women Romantic Poets, 1789-1832
An electronic collection of poetry texts by British and Irish women, drawn from the UC Davis Library's Kohler Collection of British Poetry.
- DOAB: Directory of Open Access Books
The Directory of Open Access Books is a service of OAPEN Foundation. Over 1,200 peer-reviewed books from 33 publishers.
Free ebooks in epub format. Compatible with Sony Reader, Adobe Digital Editions and other readers.
The EServer is an arts and humanities e-publishing co-op based at Iowa State University will over 35,000 works free of charge.
Free digital access to images, texts, videos, and sounds from museums, galleries, archives, libraries, and audio-visual collections throughout Europe.
Many subject areas, including classic literature, in HTML, PDF, Mobipocket, and ePub format.
- Google Books
Thousands of digitized books. Public domain books can be viewed fully. Copyright-protected books offer snippet previews.
- Hathi Trust Digital Library
Texts digitized from several university libraries.
- Humanities Text Initiative
University of Michigan humanities text project.
- Internet Archive
Including text, audio, video and more preserved from the Internet.
- Literature Post
"Our collection currently contains 825 works from 71 authors."
- NINES Nineteenth-Century Scholarship Online
Index of primary texts and scholarly research on the 19th Century.
- Oxford Text Archive
Collects, catalogues and preserves electronic literary and linguistic resources for use in Higher Education, in research, teaching and learning.
- Planet PDF
Free PDF versions of classic literature.
- Project Gutenberg
Large inventory of user-contributed etexts (primarily "the classics").
- Project Runeberg
Digital collection of Nordic literature.
- Read Print
This website offers thousands of free books for students, teachers, and the classic enthusiast.
- Rossetti Archive
The Complete Writings and Pictures of Dante Gabriel Rossetti: A Hypermedia Archive
- SCETI: Schoeberg Center for Electronic Text & Image
University of Pennsylvania digital projects home. "Over 12,000 images from various collections of rare books, manuscripts, papyri, photographs and sheet music..."
User community for contributing your own texts and using those contributed by others.
- Slavery & Abolition in the U.S.
Selected publications of the 1800s.
- Southwest Electronic Text Center
Electronic text projects of significance to the Southwest. Hosted by the University of Arizona Library.
- SunSITE Digital Collections
Variety of digital projects from the University of California.
- The National Academies Press
Open access to over 2,500 online books published by the National Academies Press primarily in the areas of science and policy. (PDF)
- The Online Books Page
Listing over 35,000 free books on the Web (University of Pennsylvania)
- The Online Medieval &Classical Library
"A collection of some of the most important literary works of Classical and Medieval civilization . . . created by Douglas B. Killings and Roy Tennant."
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
University of California Press, over 500 open access titles.
- Universal Digital Library
Carnegie Mellon University digital project.
- Victorian Women Writers Project
Indiana University project, including anthologies, novels, political pamphlets, religious tracts, children's books, and volumes of poetry and verse drama.
- William Blake Archive
Poetry, prose, and artwork by William Blake.
- Wright American Fiction
19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875.