Art Education

A research guide for Art Education, within the College of Fine Arts at the University of New Mexico

resources on campus

Don't forget these valuable research resources!

Visit Zimmerman Library’s Center for Southwest Research for access to significant collections of posters and prints, unique archives and rare books, and photographic collections, all with a particularly strong focus on Latin America.

Visit the many museums and galleries on campus at UNM.

Multimedia, Scanners, Printers @ the FADL

Scanners and printers are as follows:

  • Two Epson V-750 Scanners (with instructions) that can accommodate up 8 1/2 x 11 in. materials. Can also scan transparencies such as film or slides.
  • An overhead scanner for fragile, delicate materials, books, and artworks
  • One color printer/copier that can print up to 11 x 14 in., and two black and white printer/copiers

Multimedia & media stations:

  • DVDs and CDs are open-browse
  • VHS's and LPs are held in storage but can be requested for check out from the front desk
  • Viewing stations play Blu-Ray, CD, LPs, VHS and DVD, and can also be used to transfer VHS to DVD as needed. Headphones can be checked out at the front desk

All Library computers come equipped with Adobe Creative Suite (Photoshop, etc.), accessible at any of our computer labs

Intro to the Fine Arts & Design Library

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome, Bienvenidos, Hóshdéiiʼ to The Fine Arts and Design Library! 

Here, you will find books on the history, theory, and practice of art​​​​

Come for the books stay for the views! Here, at the top of George Pearl Hall (the Architecture Building), you can scope all of New Mexico's mountain ranges and volcanic peaks or catch some amazing sunsets! 

What else: Group study rooms, computer labs, a smart classroom, scanners, and printers

Laptops, DVDs, headphones, specialty equipment for check out. Macs and PCs loaded with photo and movie editing software. Scanners and lots of seating.

Special collections such as artists' books and other rare publications.

Remember that we also periodically have exhibits and performances here

Research Consultation & Instruction

Research Consultations

We are here to help faculty, student, and community researchers to develop their research projects, from discovery through end product, including navigating image rights for publication and managing citations. We also assist in developing project plans that may require funding proposals and/or community collaborators.

  • Assistance with research question refinement
  • Researching topic areas, including searching and finding a wide variety of media formats
  • Documentation strategies and standards
  • Research area-specific repositories & archives
  • Strategies for planning the research process from start to finish

Reference Support

Working in research intensive disciplines like Art History delving into a wide variety of resources across media, related disciplines, and hard to find resources like archives and rare books. The Fine Arts & Design Library Public Services team in the University Libraries is here to help you in your research activities.

  • Locating resources, like books, archives and media for use in proposals, research projects and instructional programs
  • Evaluation tools, technologies and strategies for citation management, instruction, and more
  • Identifying both on- and off-campus collaborators and resources

Instruction and Training

Art History is a continuously evolving discipline in which continuous learning and practice of new skills and strategies is the norm. UNM's Fine Arts & Design Library team works very hard to stay abreast of ongoing developments in the field and provides training and instruction for classes, groups and individuals in a wide variety of subject areas.

Credit courses:

  • Introduction to Photography (ARTS 185)

General and Custom Instruction & Training Sessions:

  • researching in the arts first principles
  • arts documentation & citation
  • collaboration tools

related subject guides

Librarian for Art, Architecture & Planning

Profile Photo
Stephanie Beene
she/her
Fall 2021 Office Hours
Fine Arts & Design Library
(ask at the front desk)
Wednesdays: 1-4pm,
Thursdays: 9am-12pm
OR use scheduler button.
Contact:
George Pearl Hall, Top Floor: Fine Arts & Design Library (Room 435)
Website

Ask a Librarian