Art & Ecology

A research guide for the Art & Ecology, an interdisciplinary program under the Department of Art History, within the College of Fine Arts at the University of New Mexico

related subject guides

Campus Resources

As a researcher at UNM you have a wealth of resources available right here on campus!

  • Centennial Science & Engineering Library: engineering, GIS, data-driven research, maps, technology, environmental science and geography resources. Located underground next to the Engineering School.
  • Fine Arts & Design Library: studio art, art history, architecture, landscape architecture, community planning, urban innovation, theatre, music, music scores, dance, and media collections (dvds, LPs, cassettes, CDs, VHSs, and listening stations for these various media collections). Located on the top floor of the School of Architecture & Planning in George Pearl Hall.
  • Parish Memorial Business Library: market, industry, and data-driven research. Parish is also the place to go for information on entrepreneurship, business, and economics. Located next to the Anderson Business School.
  • Zimmerman Library: social sciences and humanities research. Also houses the Indigenous Nations Library Program which works with a number of departments and units across campus, including Community & Regional Planning. The Center for Southwest Research Special Collections and Archives is also housed in Zimmerman, as well as the Undergraduate Learning Commons, and the Graduate Commons.

Research Consultation & Instruction

One-on-one or Group Appointments/Consultations

We are here to help faculty, student, and community researchers to develop their research projects, from discovery through end product, including navigating image rights for publication and managing citations. We also assist in developing project plans that may require funding proposals and/or community collaborators.

  • Assistance with research question refinement
  • Researching topic areas, including searching and finding a wide variety of media formats
  • Documentation strategies and standards
  • Research area-specific repositories & archives
  • Strategies for planning the research process from start to finish

Research support

Assisting you with delving into a wide variety of resources across media, related disciplines, and hard to find resources like archives, rare books, data, and more! We are here to help you in your research endeavors.

  • Locating resources, like books, archives and media for use in proposals, research projects and instructional programs
  • Evaluation tools, technologies and strategies for citation management, instruction, and more
  • Identifying both on- and off-campus collaborators and resources

Instruction and Training

Art & Ecology is a complex, continuously evolving, interdisciplinary field, in which continuous research and application of new skills and strategies is the norm. UNM's team of librarians works very hard to stay abreast of ongoing developments in information, data, and more, and provides training and instruction for classes, groups and individuals in a wide variety of subject areas.

Fine Arts Librarian

Stephanie Beene's picture
Stephanie Beene
Contact:
George Pearl Hall, Top Floor: Fine Arts & Design Library (Room 435)
Website

Full List of Subject Librarians