Skip to main content

Photographs and Images: Home

UNM'S collection of photographs, postcards, slides, lithographs, etchings, engravings, and other pictorial documentation.

How to Obtain a Digitized Image

Please contact Pictorial Archivist, Cindy Abel Morris, to obtain an image. 

Click this link or the Forms tab above for Duplication and Use information.

There are fees for these services.

1. If the image has already been scanned and is available on New Mexico Digital Collections:

We can email you a download link, or arrange other delivery.  

2. If the image you are interested in has not been digitized:

You can visit to the Anderson Reading Room in Zimmerman Library, request the collection containing the image you are interested in, and scan the image on the library scanner for free; or contact Cindy Abel Morris for a high resolution scan.

 

 

Using an Image in the Classroom

Fair use allows the use of copyrighted material in an educational setting, such as a teacher or a student using images in the classroom.  Fair use is a flexible concept and can be open to interpretation in certain cases.  A digital copy of an image is considered the same as a print copy for the purposes of fair use.

For more information please see the What is Fair Use?  tab above.

CSWR Pictorial Collections

 Balloon during the Territorial Fair, early 1900's, in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  1959-1969 Décimo aniversario del triunfo de la rebelión cubana  man costumed as a female dancer, posed with skirt held and head turned aside before a curtained wall; identified as Frank Lee

About

Welcome to the resource guide to UNM’s Pictorial Collections!

Pictorial images comprise both photographic and non-photographic materials, which can include postcards, posters, lithographs, engravings, etchings, and ephemera.

The Center for Southwest Research’s (CSWR) Pictorial Collections contain more than 120,000 images as of December 2012 dating from the mid-1850s to today. Many of the images are directly related to the CSWR Manuscript Collections.The collections focus on the histories of New Mexico, the Southwest, and Latin America. Subjects represented include Hispanic and Native American cultures, archeological sites, mining, ranching, railroads, political leaders, artists, writers, historical figures, landscapes, and the visual histories of Albuquerque and other localities in New Mexico.

To search for collections and images that may be useful to you, head to the Rocky Mountain Online Archive. RMOA provides online access to pictorial finding aids, which contain inventories and information about each collection.

A subset of images from RMOA and additional born-digital material may be searched at New Mexico Digital Collections.  Keyword and collection search tools are available there. 

To learn more about how to obtain or cite an image from our collections, or about copyright, please use the tabs at the top of this page to navigate.

Digitized Images

Digitized Images are pictorial works that have been scanned and can be viewed online. 

A number of pictorial collections have been digitized and are available on the web through New Mexico Digital Collections

Here you will find digitized photographs, postcards, posters, lithographs, engravings, etchings, and other resources. You can search all collections or you can browse individual collections. The CSWR Pictorial Collections are a subset of New Mexico Digital Collections which contain manuscripts, university archives, audio recordings and collections from institutions from around the State.

You can use these images for a paper, a class, a PowerPoint presentation, or your research. In addition to the digitized images available on the New Mexico Digital Collections web site, the Center for Southwest Research have many collections awaiting digitization. If you need comprehensive access to all of our pictorial collections, please contact the archivists, and/or come to the Anderson Reading Room in the Center for Southwest Research at Zimmerman Library.

Pictorial Archivist

Cindy Abel Morris's picture
Cindy Abel Morris
Contact:
Center for Southwest Research/Special Collections, Room 127B
505-277-0492