Research Guides: Market Research: Market

Market Reports

The reports below provide market analysis for various products/services and industries. It is always good to get different perspectives from these report authors.

Mintel Market Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive market reports for various products, services, and demographics. Some reports provide data in Excel for further analysis. Coverage: 2010-present. Available to UNM NetID holders only.
Available to UNM NetID holders only.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Detailed national and global industry reports that provides a narrative of the industries, performance, outlook, along with infographics, industry financial ratios, stats, etc. Reports are updated every 6-12 months.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Market Share Report - in Business Essentials provides market share for companies and their products. Note: enter Market Share Reporter in Publication Title field.
Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at http://bi.galegroup.com/essentials/?u=nm_p_elportal

Market Research Blog
Articles, white papers, videos and more from Euromonitor on different markets, industries and products/services.
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
Contains listings for radio and television stations and cable companies. Entries provide circulation numbers and advertising cost, along with other information.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (2000)
Call Number: HF5837 E53 2000
This reference looks at 500 major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century from a historical perspective and several related initiatives of earlier years that developed the basis for present day advertising.

Sage Research Methods (SRM) Core This link opens in a new window
Over 1,000 research methods ebooks, articles, case studies, and videos from Sage and other sources provide guidance on the process for conducting qualitative and quantitative research (e.g. research design, interviewing, focus groups, regression analysis, models, advanced statistics).

Local Market

Census Business Builder
Maps and demographic reports (people and industry) for a specific location - good for small businesses.
Data by Place (BEA)
The Bureau of Economic Analysis provides the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner, include local info.

Business Directories

Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
A directory of businesses and non-profits in the United States. Useful for identifying businesses and competitors. Plus, useful for creating direct marketing lists of consumers. NOTE: Use "Verified" results. Former Title: Reference USA. Coverage: last three years.

Market Handbook Series
Series includes a B2B book, and marketing in specific business fields (e.g. sports).
ThomasNet
A supplier discovery resource for B2B.
Business to business books
Ebooks and print books to help you understand how to market to businesses

Marketing Videos

Marketing videos
Videos on marketing from Films on Demand. Use left bar to refine results.