Research Guides: Market Research: Industry

Overview of Industry Resources

These resources let you investigate different aspects of an industry. You want to gather industry reports and statistics, along with trade and news articles. The statistics can help benchmark a company against the industry. Use multiple sources. Also, use search engines to find trade associates.

Industry Reports

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Detailed national and global industry reports that provides a narrative of the industries, performance, outlook, along with infographics, industry financial ratios, stats, etc. Reports are updated every 6-12 months.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
BSC provides access to industry reports from various research companies. Add your industry to this search

Encyclopedia of American Industries
"Provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business." Select year at bottom of page.
SBDC Small Business Snapshots
Market research reports cover industry trends, market statistics, costs, customer demographics, and more.

FactSet This link opens in a new window
Funded by Thornburg Investment Management, this resource offers comprehensive data and analytics on global financial and economic markets and companies. Included are financial data on public and private companies, with historical coverage for developed markets (1980s-p), and emerging markets (1990s-p), historical financial metrics for countries, and historical financial data from global indices.
Access provided by Anderson School of Management.

Industry: Government Resources

County Business Patterns (US Census)
An annual series that provides sub-national (state, county, MSA, city, zipcode) economic data by industry.
NM Department of Workforce Solutions
NM state statistics on labor force and economics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS is "the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy."
NAICS and SIC Industry codes

Basic Industry Resources

Yahoo! Industry Center
more...less...
Site organizes resources, news, calendars, market info, and additional info by industry. You'll find lists of the Top 10 Companies in each industry ranked by market cap. Overviews for each industry are provided and feature content from Hoover's.
Virtual Pet: Industry Hubs
more...less...
Polson Enterprises' site lists a wide variety of industries with links to specific industry home pages. The site also includes useful "how to" guides on industry and company research.

Industry Ratios & Stats

Key Business Ratios (D&B) This link opens in a new window
Industry financial ratios from Dun & Bradstreet that provide industry benchmarks. Data is aggregated from public and private companies. Coverage: last five years.

Ratio Almanac

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: HF5681 R25 A45
PRINT resource provides standard financial ratios computed from the IRS's statistical sampling of the tax returns of all corporations. The reference book is arranged by NAICS code.