Chicana and Chicano Collections (Archival)

Ms. Portal came to the United States and attended the New England School of Photography in 1980-1981. In 1982, Cecilia Portal moved to New Mexico, where she continues to reside.New Mexico's Hispanic component presents Ms. Portal with a cultural environment reminiscent of her past. Documentation of New Mexico's Hispanic women has become the prominant theme of Cecilia Portal's recent works.

The collection, contains materials dating from 1951-1992. This material relates to Ms. Gutiérrez' passion and life's work in the areas of bilingual/bicultural education. Box 1 includes biographical material as well as newspaper clippings, publications, reports, letters and other records documenting her work in New Mexico education, culture and politics. The remainder of Box 1 consists of background material and manuscripts relating to an unfinished book or books on Indo-Hispanic peoples and bilingual/bicultural education, entitled Stories of the Spanish Speaking People. Box 2 includes letters, newspaper articles, manuscripts, teaching materials, photographs, and other documents relating to education but particularly to bilingual/bicultural education and English as a second language.

This collection contains records of Irene I. Blea, Ph.D., a sociologist, writer, and advocate for minority issues, especially those of Mexican women. These papers deal with Dr. Blea's professional, personal, and political struggle for minority rights.
In addition to her impressive educational background Blea is a renowned author and poet. Through her writings and poetry, she has advocated for minority rights, feminist ideas, and equality. Her poetry and writings strive to give hope to the oppressed and a voice to the powerless. As an advocate for minority rights, Blea works through professional organizations such as the National Association for Chicano Studies and the Western Social Science Association. Additionally, she is a consultant on issues of multiculturalism, education, and discrimination based on race and gender.

Collection consists primarily of news clippings documenting author & activist Martinez's involvement with the Sanctuary Movement. There are also biographical materials and articles written by Ms. Martinez. See Gov. Toney Anaya Papers, for additional Sanctuary Movement Materials.

This collection contains the papers of Gloria Montoya Chavez, a student, administrator, writer, and advocate for Chicano/a and other minority issues. These papers deal with professional, personal, and political struggle within the University of New Mexico’s Chicano Studies and Chicano Student Services, also known as Hispanic Student Services, and in the surrounding community

Catherine Ramirez lectures as part of Culture in the Age of Aquarius, a festival co-sponsored by the UNM English and UNM Theater and Dance departments. Ramirez discusses the chicano movement, chicano cultural nationalism, and chicana feminism.

Vicki Ruiz presents on her work on the history of rural schooling for Mexican Americans. She covers topics from the controversy over public education in New Mexico in the 1870's to Mendez v. Westminster, the class action law suit brought by Mexican-American families fighting for desegregation.

Maria Dolores Gonzales and Margaret Montoya present their contributions to "Speaking Chicana: Voice, Power and Identity" covering a broad range of topics including linguistics, art, law, women's studies and literature. Tey Diana Rebolledo and Maria Teresa Marquez present "Women's Tales for the New Mexico WPA: La Diabla a Pie" a volume of women's stories on history, culture, recipes, witches, curanderas, and more.

Maria Herrera-Sobek presents her research and writings on the intersections of ecology, femenism, chicana studies, and literature.