Chicana and Chicano Collections (Archival)

Central American Political Ephemera Collection, 1983-1986 contains materials from Central American political campaigns during the mid-1980s, including political material from Honduras, Costa Rica, Nicaragua, Panama, and El Salvador. The majority of the collection consists of campaign pamphlets and information about candidates running for the presidency in the 1985 and 1986 elections.

David Craven Papers, 1973-2006 contain personal correspondence between Dr. Craven and a wide variety of Latin American artists and intellectuals, most notably Cuban art critic Gerardo Mosquera. Also included are a wide variety of newspapers, periodicals, newsletters, and books relating to the art, poli­tics, and culture of Latin America, with specific emphasis on Cuba and Nicaragua. A number of postcards, greeting cards, art exhibition handbills, tourist information, and other miscellaneous papers and memorabilia are included in the collection as well

George Bunzl Photograph Collection, 1951-1976 consists of the work of photographer George Bunzl. The photographs are largely portraits of indigenous peoples in their native dress, shown in the context of their daily activities as encountered by Mr. Bunzl on his travels throughout the world. Other photographs are village and market scenes, some architectural details (including an Incan stone masonry wall), still lifes, and a number of landscapes. Many of his photographs made in Mexico, Guatemala, Ecuador, and Peru are included in his book The Face of the Sun Kingdoms (1966). This book and a complete set of 35mm contact prints serve as visual finding aids to the collection and are located in Box 1 of the collection.

John Donald Robb Photograph Collection, 1950-1989 consists of portraits of John D. Robb and family, friends, and numerous musicians, conductors, singers, and dance performers. There are many photos of orchestras, some in South America. Other photographs show equipment and demonstrations of electronic music, Comanche dancers and Matachines performances in both New Mexico and Mexico.

John Nichols Calaveras Print Collection contains 21 calaveras prints by the author John Nichols. The illustrations were origi­nally created as chapter headers for his 1978 novel, The Magic Journey, although only eight of them were subsequently reproduced in the book. The illustrations are modeled on calaveras in the Latin American tradition, and depict skeletons as musicians, clergy, businessmen, and politicians. The col­lection is part of a limited edition, and each print is numbered and signed by the artist. Also included is a written introduction by the artist.

This collection contains badly faded reproductions of “Mapa de Cuauhtlantzinco,” a seventeenth-cen­tury Mexican codex also called Codex Campos. The Mapa tells the story of an Indian cacique named Tepoztecatzin and his experiences during the Conquest of Mexico including the introduction of Chris­tianity to his village. The original Mapa, consisting of 44 oil paintings of European paper, each 30 x 40 cm., was discovered in 1836 by the Padre D. José Vicente Campos.

Margaret Randall Photograph Collection, 1937-1989, contains photographs of Margaret Randall, her family and friends, and events related to her life as a writer and political activist. Margaret Randall’s life and consequently, her writings, focus on themes of politics, social revolution, art, feminism, and lesbianism, in Latin America and the United States. The years she spent in Mexico, Cuba, and Nicaragua figure prominently in her works

Rosen was a photographer who worked in the Straight Photography tradition popularized by Edward Weston and other art photographs in the second quarter of the Twentieth Century. The majority of the collection consists of photographs taken by Roy Rosen during his travels in the United States, Eu­rope, Latin America and the Caribbean. There are also still life compositional studies by Rosen.

Black and white photographs of Spanish Colonial art: sculpture, religious architecture, and paint­ing. The smaller prints include 35 mm negatives of Puerto Rican Santos. Others images were made in Mexico, Central, and South America and used in the book, Baroque and Rococco in Latin America by Pál Kelemen. Elisabeth Zulauf Kelemen took the photographs