Chicana and Chicano Collections (Archival)

Miguel Antonio Lovato Papers, 1790-1849 provides documents about the unavailability of the holy sacraments to area Hispanics and Indians, poor prison conditions, Pueblo land losses, social classes, military and economic troubles and suggestions to the Spanish King for remedies

New Mexico Documents Collection, 1758-1876. includes Spanish and Mexican era documents that address social, government, judicial, economic, land and water issues

Indian Affairs Collection, 1684-1903 includes disputes and claims by Pueblos of New Mexico for lands, water, etc. This collection is available in UNM CSWR Indian Affairs New Mexico Digital Collection.

Thomas B. Catron Papers, 1840-1921. contains personal, business, political, legal and land grant papers and maps. Some land records and historic maps have been digitized.

Sandoval County, New Mexico Land Documents, 1790-1872. This collection, compiled by Julius Seligman, contains documents regarding the sale and purchase of land in Sandoval County, New Mexico, in and around Bernalillo, Algodones, Placitas, Santa Ana Pueblo, San Felipe Pueblo, and Jemez Pueblo.

Catholic Church Report Regarding New Mexico Missions, 1794 provides descriptions, with demographic data from 1794, on various New Mexico communities - both Spanish and Pueblos. In Spanish, with transcription.

Spanish Archives of New Mexico II, 1621-1821 consists of administrative, civil, military, and ecclesiastical records of the Spanish colonial government in New Mexico, 1621-1821. Records cover both the local and provincial levels, and include correspondence between officials in Santa Fe and Mexico.

The Eleanor B. Adams Papers contains photocopies, transcriptions and translations of colonial documents relating to the history of New Mexico and colonial New Spain. It contains a few original Spanish documents as well. There are also correspondences with other scholars and unpublished works related to historiography, as well as maps from the colonial and territorial era.

John L. Kessell Papers, 1582-2000 As one of the leading historians of New Mexico and the Spanish Southwest, John L. Kessell conducted extensive research in these areas. This collection includes photocopies of some of the primary source materials he used for his scholarship, as well as notes, correspondence, manuscripts, and other research materials.

Lansing B. Bloom Papers, 1540-1946 (bulk 1870-1946) The Bloom series, which is box 1 of the collection, contains Bloom's private papers and descriptive lists of hundreds of documents pertaining to Northern Mexico, New Mexico and Southwest history from the AGI that Bloom located and copied.

Vargas Project Records, 1642-1999 is divided into three series. Project files contain correspondence, notes, research material, draft manuscripts, citations and records of office operations. Many of these documents are from archives in Spain, Mexico and the United States and are difficult or impossible to access. These archives include Archivo General de Notarías del Distrito Federal (Mexico City), Archivo Histórico de Protocolos (Madrid), Archivo del Marqués de la Nava de Barcinas (Madrid), Archivo de Rafael Gasset Dorado (Madrid), Archivo General del Ministerio de Justicia (Spain), Archivo de Notarías de Torrelaguna (Spain), Archivo Histórico de Parral (Chihuahua), and Ritch Collection (Huntington Library, CA).

Dale I. Perry Papers, 1976-1982 contains photocopies of articles, publications, and sections of publications, as well as bibliographical notes, handwritten notes, correspondence, and microfilm relating to Perry’s research for his dissertation on art patronage in colonial Mexico. Much of the material focuses on Bishop Juan de Palafox y Mendoza and the Cathedral at Puebla, Mexico.

Documents from the Archivo General de La Nación de México and Other Related Archives, 1520-1878 contains selected Spanish documents copied from the Archivo General de La Nación and other archives in Mexico City, with related transcriptions and notes. The collection is mainly fo­cused on the colonial history of New Mexico and New Spain, with some materials for the Caribbean, Latin America and the U.S. Borderlands.

Documents from the Archivo General de La Nación de México and Other Related Archives, 1520-1878 contains selected Spanish documents copied from the Archivo General de La Nación and other archives in Mexico City, with related transcriptions and notes. The collection is mainly fo­cused on the colonial history of New Mexico and New Spain, with some materials for the Caribbean, Latin America and the U.S. Borderlands.

D'Armand Collection of Spanish Language Documents, 1792-1871 contains nine New Mexico documents providing a view of social classes, children, mestizos, servants, democratic government, defense, Indian attacks, and economic, tax, environment and property issues.