Technology (the T's) are dispersed across all four libraries at UNM and deal with everything from Reclamation of Wasteland to Hydraulic and Oceanic Engineering to Photography. Geography (the G's) also encompass Environmental Sciences, Maps, and Oceanography. These will mostly reside in Zimmerman Library.
The keys to these call number ranges are linked below.
You can discover and access articles to use in your research in multiple ways:
To find a specific online journal that you would like to browse you can use our eJournal Finder to search by journal title.
If you have the citation for an article and you would like to determine if we have access to it through our many subscriptions and collections you can use our Article Finder search tool to find it.
If you don't have a specific journal or article in mind for your search you probably want to use one or more of the databases that we subscribe to to search for articles that are relevant to your research topic. Below are listed some of the key Earth & Planetary Science databases that you might want to consider using as a starting point in your research.
While specific search options vary somewhat between databases, the following general guidelines are useful when composing your search terms:
Think about your topic and separate it into separate concepts
1) Vocabulary - Synonyms
2) Search construction - Boolean logic/Set theory
Connect synonyms with the 'OR'
Connect separate concepts with 'AND'
3) Defining search phrases - Place phrases (i.e. words that occur together in a specific order) you want to search for in quotes to signal that the search should be executed as a phrase search instead of a search for a list of individual words.
We have a large collection of both physical books and ebooks in our collections for your use. Most of them are discoverable through our campus' library catalogs, but some also appear in a number of specialized databases to which we subscribe. Core catalogs that you will want to use in your search for books include:
If you find a book that we don't have in our collections in either hardcopy or ebook form you can request it through out interlibrary loan service:
Access to data is critical to modern data-intensive research. While the number of key data resources is rapidly growing, the list provided below is a starting point for some key data resources.
You will find most books on art in the Fine Arts & Design Library. Here is a key to the call numbers in FADL: