Research Guides: General Reference Guide: Background Info: Science References

Chemistry & Physics General Reference Works

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window
Reference data related to chemistry, physics, astronomy, mathematics, and other fields of science.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
Brief articles on chemical substances - including their properties, manufacturing, and uses - as well as industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering and related subjects. Coverage: 2012-2015

NIST Standards Reference Data
Physical Reference Data (NIST)
Chemistry WebBook (NIST)
National Center for Biotechnology Information
Advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information. Includes PubChem, Genes, Proteins, Small molecule properties and interactions.

ASCE's Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) This link opens in a new window
Access to most ASCE (American Society of Civil Engineers) journals. Citations and abstracts for ASCE conference proceedings, ebooks, and standards.
National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new window
NTIS comprehensive federal resource of high-quality government scientific, technical, engineering, and information (STEI) reports produced by or for federal agencies in hundreds of subject areas.

Biodiversity Heritage Library This link opens in a new window
Largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives, with taxonomic indexing. Includes historical and contemporary materials.

Wolfram MathWorld
An extensive mathematics resource, includes math and statistics terms with examples.