Research Guides: General Reference Guide: Background Info: General Reference

Using This Guide

This research guide has suggested sources for references works in broad areas of study. These sources are good for finding basic facts and background information about a topic. UNM Libraries has many more than we can list here, especially encyclopedias and handbooks. If you can't find what you're looking for, try searching this search phrase in the "Books Only" tab of the library website: [subject] AND encyclopedia or [subject] AND handbook.

Encyclopedias

CQ Researcher Online
Comprehensive reports about current issues and news in the United States. Coverage: 1991-present.
Credo Reference
A research starting point for students looking for background information to inform their topic. With millions of articles pulled from hundreds of books, Credo is a general knowledge database providing articles, images, charts, maps and other materials on thousands of topics.
Gale eBooks
This multidisciplinary resource includes a wide variety of encyclopedias and almanacs. Formerly called Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=GVRL&u=nm_p_elportal
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Oxford Very Short Introductions
Offer concise introductions (ebooks) to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.

1-concurrent user.

Wikipedia
While some folks are still skeptical of Wikipedia, we have found it to be a great source of background information. The "Talk" page on any Wikipedia article has information about the article's quality.

General Dictionaries

The Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive English language dictionary; includes meanings, histories, and pronunciations. All 20 volumes online.

Merrian Webster Dictionary and Thesaurus
Diccionario de la lengua española
Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary
Provides definitions of a wide variety of acronyms, initialisms, abbreviations and similar contractions...

General Statistical Resources

CIA World Factbook
Information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military and transnational issues for most countries.

WolframAlpha
a fundamentally new way to get knowledge and answers, not by searching the web, but by doing dynamic computations based on a vast collection of built-in data, algorithms, and methods.
QuickFacts: US Census
Quick statistical information of each US state and territory.
GapMinder
It uses its videos and data visualization tools to help people better understand statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels.
WorldBank: Countries Data
Overall data on each country of the world

General Resources on New Mexico

About New Mexico
Info on New Mexico's State Government, State Symbols (e.g. State Question), State Songs, New Mexico History, and Publications (e.g. legal).
NM History - Wikipedia

Encyclopedia of New Mexico (2001)
Call Number: Zimmerman: F794 .E5 2001
Historical encyclopedia of New Mexico (1945) by Davis (ed.)
Call Number: Zimmerman: F796 H5
Hudspeth Directory Company's Albuquerque City Directory (1917-1947)
Call Number: CSWR: F804.A3 A18
Miracle on the Mesa (2006) by William E. Davis
Call Number: Zim: LD3781.N52 D38 2006

Written by former UNM president William 'Bud' Davis, Miracle on the Mesa covers the changes and growth experienced by the University since its founding on February 28, 1889.
New Mexico Historical Review (Journal)
Publication Date: 1926-p
New Mexico Indians, A to Z: Tribes, nations, and People of the Southwest by Hamlin-Wilson, Ricky and, Capace (Eds.)
Call Number: CSWR: E78.N65 N467 2001
The Place Names of New Mexico (1996) by Robert Julyan
Call Number: Zim: F794 J84 1996

An invaluable guide to the state's geography and history. It explains more than 7,000 names of features large and small statewide.
Private land claims in the Southwest (1969) by JJ Bowden
Call Number: CSWR: KF5675 .B6 1969a

Six volumes that include maps, portraits and bibliographical references.
Pueblo nations: Eight centuries of Pueblo Indian history (1992) by Joe S. Sando
Call Number: Zim: E99 P9 S186 1991

Pueblo Nations is the story of a vital and creative culture, of a people sustained by ages-old traditions and beliefs, who have adapted to the radical challenges of the modern world.