Research Guides: General Reference Guide: Background Info: Humanities References

History General Reference Works

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Books covering histories across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.

A Native American Encyclopedia (2000) by Pritzker
Call Number: Zim & Fine Arts: E76.2 P75 2000
This book liberally provides the essential information necessary to better grasp the history and cultures of North American Indians.
The Encyclopedia of World Cultures (1996) by Levinson (Ed.)
Call Number: Zim: GN 307 E53 1991
Find the volume for the region of your culture group. Within that volume, groups are listed alphabetically in this 11 volume set.
World History Encyclopedia
Call Number: D9 .W67 2011
This multivolume encyclopedia focuses on specific themes of human development across cultures era by era.

Gale Literature Criticism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes essays and commentary on the careers and works of major literary figures. Coverage: 1800s to present
Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at https://www.gale.com/databases/literature-criticism-online
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Includes scholarly journals, book reviews, and magazine articles on a wide range of literary topics as well as author biographies.
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new window
CLCD has information about children's and young adult books including book reviews, reading measurement scores, and links to curriculum resources.
Something About the Author This link opens in a new window
Includes biographies and autobiographies of authors and illustrators of children's literature and young adult literature.

OED (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new window
The definitive English language dictionary; includes meanings, histories, and pronunciations.
LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Find research in linguistics, language, and the pathology of speech and hearing in journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reviews of books and other media. Includes articles in 30 languages. 4 concurrent users. Coverage: 1973-present.

The English Language (1992) by Hogg
This six-volume encyclopedia has chapters written with both specialists and non-specialists in mind; they will be essential reading for all those interested in the history of English.
A History of the Spanish Language (1991) by Penny
Call Number: Zim: PC4075 P46 1991
This book provides a clear and elegant account of the development of Spanish over the last 2000 years.