Research Guides: Psychology: Article Databases

Article Databases

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The best resource for psychology related topics in journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage: 1887-present.

PsycINFO is the best database for identifying psychology articles. However, depending on your topic, you may need to also search in other databases. The databases below are useful for many related topics. Contact a librarian for other suggestions.

Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding research literature in medicine, nursing, and related fields. Includes extensive peer-reviewed journal content as well as books, conference publications, and datasets. Use the embedded MeSH controlled vocabulary for targeted searching.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A biomedical research literature database that is also useful in building comprehensive systematic reviews for evidence-based medicine decisions.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) includes scholarly articles, reports, curriculum and teaching guides and conference papers covering multiple levels of education from preK to higher education.
It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the United States Department of Education. Provides a more robust search interface of the freely available ERIC database. Coverage: 1966-present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education on subjects including curriculum, administration, policy, multilingual education, health education and testing.

Literature Reviews

Annual Reviews Electronic Journal & Archives This link opens in a new window
Publishes state-of-the-art reviews on important topics by top scholars. It publishes most heavily in the sciences, but also publishes in the social sciences.
Available to UNM NetID holders only.

Specifcially, you may want to look at Annual Review of Psychology, Annual Review of Clinical Psychology and the Annual Review of Public Health, among others.

Search in PsycInfo and use the METHODOLOGY filter to limit to literature reviews, systematic reviews, meta-analysis, etc. published in other journals.