It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Good examples of websites and tools with data and statistics are below. There are also many other resources related to data & statistics for specific topics or regions, so contact Liz Cooper, Social Sciences Librarian, firstname.lastname@example.org, for advice on other tools to consult.
The Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (ICPSR) provides research datasets covering a wide range of social science areas. Each study's dataset provides documentation (e.g. codebook), and a bibliography of published articles that used the data. Data offered in many formats. Must create an ICPSR account to download data. Coverage: 1700s-present.
Visualize and map thousands of socioeconomic variables covering the United States (local to national). Create reports on specific Census geographies. Download reports, data, and maps. Coverage: 2000-present.
Data collected by the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute. Includes data and stats on security trends, military expenditure, arms transfers, arms embargoes, and national reports on arms exports. Data by country and year. Some are not available to the public.
This resource includes: Prices of Commodities and Good for 268 countries. Also, it has International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOP), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOT) and Government Finance Statistics (GFS).
A website with data about human civilization at a global scale. Entries are dedicated to the global changes in health, population growth, education, culture, violence, political power and human rights, war and peace, material prosperity and poverty, technology, food and hunger, and humanity's impact on the environment. It is a collaborative effort between the researchers of the Oxford Martin Programme on Global Development at the University of Oxford and Global Change Data Lab,
"Provides resources to help ... develop better statistical capacity that advances the national and international monitoring of development policies and goals." The resources here include various reports on the quality of gathering of data/statistics in individual countries, as well as a database of "statistical capacity indicator" scores. Keep this site in mind when considering different topics for research - it will help you get a sense of where data availability will be a problem for a particular country.
The WGI reports cover six aggregate governance indicators... 1)Voice and Accountability, 2) Political Stability and Absence of Violence, 3) Government Effectiveness, 4) Regulatory Quality, 5) Rule of Law, and 6) Control of Corruption
Open access to data about development from countries around the globe. You can search via country, topic, indicator OR click on the "Data Catalog" tab for a list of all available data sets OR click on the "Microdata" tab for available microdata.
United States open government resource including datasets produced by federal as well as contributing state and local organizations. In addition to raw data downloads, site provides analytical tools and an Application Programming Interface (API) for data access. Coverage: 2013-present.
The principal source of periodic demographic and socioeconomic data of the United States. Also includes data from the Business Surveys, and Economic, Manufacturers and Government censuses. Includes publications and links from historical censuses. Coverage: 1860-present.
A joint project between the Bureau of Labor Statistics and the US Census Bureau (not included in American FactFinder). The CPS is a monthly survey that collects basic socio-demographic information and labor force characteristics. To access CPS data files, users can go through the Data Ferrett (see link below). Alternately, they can go to the National Bureau of Economic Research's CPS site or to the IPUMS CPS site.
In addition to the links on this page, Princeton University Library's Data & Statistical Services librarians have created a great catalog for identifying data sets on specific topics. Although the links on the site are via Princeton’s servers and often will not work for us at UNM, after you identify a useful data set, you can Google the data set’s name and gain access to those that are free or that UNM might have access to or you can get info on how to acquire the data sets that require fees, etc. Contact me, Liz Cooper (email@example.com) for assistance.
Public opinion polls cover both political and sociological topics.
To learn more about polls, check out the tutorial on Polling Fundamentals (from the Roper Center). Designed for the novice, it provides definitions, examples, and explanations that introduce students to the field of public opinion research.
Some useful websites and tools with polling data include:
Public opinion polling data from U.S. and international polling firms on a broad range of topics including opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs. Download datasets and tables. Coverage: 1935 to present.
Longitudinal studies of trends in American attitudes; contains a standard 'core' of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest related to the US population since 1972. From NORC (National Opinion Research Center at the University of Chicago).
Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Has great data and reports on: U.S. politics, media & news, social trends, religion, internet & tech, Hispanics, global issues.
Searchable archive of specific poll questions from Louis Harris polls and others. The Odum Institute maintains one of the oldest and largest archives of machine-readable data in the U.S. Its Louis Harris Data Center is the exclusive national repository for Louis Harris public opinion data. The Institute has an extensive collection of U.S. Census data, including one of the most complete holdings for 1970 Census files.