Research Guides: Global &amp; National Security Policy Institute: Research Guide: Scholarly Articles/Dissertations Databases

Scholarly Articles Databases

Some related scholarly article database/search engines are listed below. Depending on your topic, others might also be useful. To view a list of all library databases organized by subject: on the Library Homepage, click on the DATABASES tab, then click on the "BY SUBJECT" dropdown.

Political Science

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Focus on the research literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, public administration, and public policy. 1975-present.

Public Policy

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Focused on public policy research and issues. Includes international journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, and publications of international agencies. Does not include newspapers. Coverage: 1915-present.

History

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
U.S. and Canadian history and culture which includes scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, reference sources, and other documents and multimedia. Coverage: prehistoric times to the present.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
World history including military history, women's history, history of education, and more. Indexing of scholarly journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. Coverage: 1450-present.

Military

Military & Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Academic journals and magazines pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Useful to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Gale OneFile: War and Terrorism This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals, books, video and news dealing with conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. Useful for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science.

Area Studies

PRISMA Database with HAPI Index This link opens in a new window
Spanish and Portuguese-language portal for scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities on Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Coverage: 1960-present.

General

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database has over 2.1 million full-text dissertations and theses. It also contains indexing of 3.8 million graduate works. Primarily US, UK and Ireland but increasingly from other countries. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Coverage: 1861-present.

Business & Economics

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, marketing, and organizations from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also, includes current company, industry, and country reports from third parties. Coverage 1820-present.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
The key resource for economic literature from scholarly journals, working papers, dissertations, etc. Research covers all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, etc. From the American Economic Association (AEA). Coverage: 1888-present.

Sociology/Social Issues

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.

Environment

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Books and articles on a wide range of topics related to the environment, including agriculture, renewable energy sources, pollution and waste management, and more. Coverage: 1880-present.

Law

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Access to law journals and other legal periodicals, federal publications (e.g. Federal Register), statutes, case law, treaties, historical legal documents, Canada and United Kingdom laws, and more. Provided by the UNM Law School Library.

Dissertations

Dissertations & Theses Global Full Text (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The database has over 2.1 million full-text dissertations and theses. It also contains indexing of 3.8 million graduate works. Primarily US, UK and Ireland but increasingly from other countries. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Coverage: 1861-present.