Research Guides: Global &amp; National Security Policy Institute: Research Guide: News &amp; Websites

News - Current & Historical

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from international, national, and regional newspapers, newswires, and news sites. Includes BBC Monitoring translations of non-English newspapers from a variety of regions. (To search these: put "BBC MONITORING" in the first search box and change the dropdown box to the right to PUBLICATION TITLE. In the search box below, enter your keywords. Note that not all countries have full coverage in our version of this source.) Also includes access to major US newspapers such as, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1980-present. (Proquest)
New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
The national paper of record with domestic and international news. Coverage: 1980-present.
US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Features newspaper articles, newswires, blogs, and news sites. It includes access to New Mexico newspapers as well as newspapers from across America including Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, New York Times, Washington Post, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage: 1980s-present.
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
WSJ full-text articles, no images. Coverage: 1984 to today.

Historical

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
English-language transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news. Political, military, economic, and environmental topics are the major emphases asthe original mission of the FBIS was to monitor and translate intercepted broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine operations. Covers the Cold War, China, the Middle East, Latin America, the Soviet Union, and more.
Coverage: 1941 to 1996.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of newspapers from mainstream news sources and African-American news sources. Publication include: Chicago Tribune (1849-1994); Los Angeles Times (1881-1994); New York Times (1851-2014); Washington Post (1877-2001); Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), Civil War era titles, and other newspapers from around the United States. Coverage: 1800s-2005.
New York Times (1851 - 3 years ago) This link opens in a new window
Historical newspaper articles, including photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, and editorial cartoons. Coverage: 1851 - three years ago.

Regional Focus

LatinNews This link opens in a new window
Provides news and analysis on political, economic, and security issues in Latin America and the Caribbean. Includes the following advisory reports: LatinNews Daily, Latin American Weekly Report, Latin American Economy & Business, Latin American Security & Strategic Review, Latin American Special Reports, Latin American Regional Reports, Latin News Country Database. The Country Database allows access to all reports organized by country.
Coverage: 1967-present

Websites

The Cipher Brief
A premier platform for the foreign policy, national security, and intelligence communities. GNSPI is a Cipher Brief Academic Incubator and students in the program are subscribed (contact mrmonto@unm.edu for more info.) See the George Mason University Academic Incubator webpage for further info.
War on the Rocks
This influential site features articles and podcasts by an array of writers with deep national security and foreign policy experience.
GZERO & Signal Newsletter (Eurasia Group)
GZERO provides global affairs coverage from a political risk analysis firm. Their website has brief global news stories and you can subscribe to receive the free Signal international affairs newsletter published four times per week.
H-Diplo
Global interdisciplinary network and publication center for matters relating to diplomatic and international history. It is one of the most relevant and important open-access scholarly resources on the internet. Each year, it publishes over 300 commissioned roundtable reviews, article reviews, essays, commentaries, and policy series, as well as original works of scholarship, and features discussions and forums on important new works, including monographs and articles in the top journals of the field.
War Room
Podcasts, online journal etc. from the U.S. Army War College. "Creative thinking about national security and defense."
ADST Oral History Collection
Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training's more than 2500 interviews with former participants in the U.S. foreign affairs process.