Art Education

Artstor: The Digital Library with Millions of Images

The Artstor Digital Library is an image database featuring an unparalleled range of images from some of the world's leading museums, photo archives, scholars, and artists in one easily-navigated repository. It is the most comprehensive image resource available for educational and scholarly use, with many rare and important collections available nowhere else. 

The library is constantly growing with new collections added monthly, continually expanding our areas of reference and study. All images are accompanied by comprehensive metadata and are rights-cleared for educational use. 

 

Visit their extensive knowledge base for video tutorials, guides to the newest features, and more! And if you have questions or would like training on Artstor, send me an email or schedule an appointment.

Google Images

Google Images can be useful, but overwhelming!

Make sure you are finding images that link back to reputable sources: the artist's own website, the gallery representing the artist, etc.

Also take advantage of the advanced search option to find images that are not under copyright restrictions, or to limit your search by file size. Do you have questions about copyright, creative commons, or fair use? Ask us!

See also

The research guides below provide tons of great resources and advice for using images from their collections and beyond!

Streaming media at UNM

UNM Libraries provide a variety of streaming media options for students, faculty, and staff. If you are unable to find a title in the resources listed to the left, please contact Amy Jackson, amyjacks@unm.edu.

Image Archives online

Did you know that university and museum libraries and archives are digitizing images and other materials from their collections? Here is a small sample of what is offered within these digital collections.