Research Guides: Africana Studies: Scholarly Articles & Journals

Search for a Specific Journal

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, major Black historical newspapers, among other sources chronicling the histories, cultures, and important issues within the African American experience, the wider African diaspora, and Africa itself. Coverage 1827-present.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The complete back files of more than 1000+ core scholarly journals in a variety of humanities, business, science and social science disciplines available in PDF format.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
A leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations on literature and languages.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
This is a large index of scholarly journals and other documents. Look for Find@UNM to link to full-text or interlibrary loan.
Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ethnic minority topics and viewpoints from journals, newspapers, reports, conference papers, and dissertations. Ethnic categories include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native People.
Subject coverage: culture, religion, independent presses, ethnic studies, human rights, activism. Coverage: 1964-present.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular publications on gender and the evolution of gender roles. Coverage: 1970-present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education on subjects including curriculum, administration, policy, multilingual education, health education and testing.