Gateway to reliable resources on food, healthy eating, physical activity and food safety. Includes nutrition information about select health topics (cancer, diabetes, eating disorders, digestive disorders, obesity, and more).
Best Databases for Medical Nutrition Research
Nutrition is an interdisciplinary topic, and nutrition research can stem from the life sciences as well as social sciences and other related fields. The best database for your research will depend on your specific research topic and interests. No single database searches across all information sources, so it is recommended that you try to research your topic in more than one of the platforms linked below.
The premier resource for finding research literature in medicine, nursing, and related fields. Includes extensive peer-reviewed journal content as well as books, conference publications, and datasets. Use the embedded MeSH controlled vocabulary for targeted searching.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
Extensive research resource for life science and biomedical information. Content includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and patents. Subjects include botany, zoology, microbiology, pharmacology, genetics, medicine, and more.
Citation analysis tools are provided. Coverage 1926 to present
Covering sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, biomechanics, and other related disciplines. Contains scholarly journals and other scholarly works dating to 1800, as well as dissertations, theses, and references to articles written in 60 world languages. Coverage: 1985-present.
Contains e-books, journal articles, practice guidelines, drug information, and multimedia resources. Also includes First Consult clinical overviews within search results. NOTE: Access to PDF versions of e-book chapters requires users to set up a free My ClinicalKey account. HTML full text does not require an account.
Citations, abstracts, and full text access to information on the effects of interventions in health care. Includes systematic reviews of randomized controlled trials, summaries of systematic reviews, reports from health technology assessment organizations, economic evaluations of health care interventions, and more. Updated quarterly.
Find even more databases to search by browsing through the full database lists maintained by both the UNM Main Campus Libraries and the UNM Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center (HSLIC).