CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition by
Following in the tradition of its popular predecessors, the CRC Desk Reference for Nutrition, Third Edition explains hundreds of terms commonly used in medicine, food science, metabolism, physiology, and nutrition. Thoroughly updated and expanded to reflect major advances over the past decade, this reference lists entries alphabetically and cross-references them when multiple terms are used for the same definition. Each entry is followed either by a definition, paragraph, essay, composition, article, or feature article. Many of the more complex entries are supported with figures or tables. New Material in the Third Edition Gut hormones and their functions Food intake recommendations New drugs with nutritional applications Novel discoveries of transport and messenger proteins Gene polymorphisms involved in nutritional responses A compilation of terms of interest to the nutritionist and non-nutritionist, this book is an alphabetical list of medical terms, drugs, biochemical, genetic and physiological terms relevant to understanding the need for and use of nutrients.
Genes and Nutrition by
At present, two important factors contributing to diseases are environmental and genetic factors. The gene is a well defined component distributing to many disorders. This is important genetic parameter. Focusing on environmental factor, nutrition is an important parameter. The interrelationship between gene and nutrition is well defined. The focus on gene and nutrition leads to new emerging sciences, nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics. In the book, the authors focus on research and report on these aspects. The subjects in nutrigenetics and nutrigenomics are presented and discussed.
Modern nutrition in health and disease by
This widely acclaimed book is a complete, authoritative reference on nutrition and its role in contemporary medicine, dietetics, nursing, public health, and public policy. Distinguished international experts provide in-depth information on historical landmarks in nutrition, specific dietary components, nutrition in integrated biologic systems, nutritional assessment through the life cycle, nutrition in various clinical disorders, and public health and policy issues.
Modern Nutrition in Health and Disease , 11th Edition, offers coverage of nutrition's role in disease prevention, international nutrition issues, public health concerns, the role of obesity in a variety of chronic illnesses, genetics as it applies to nutrition, and areas of major scientific progress relating nutrition to disease.
Nutrition and Diet Therapy by
Meet the ever-changing demands of providing quality nutritional care for patients across the lifespan. This popular text provides a strong foundation in the science of nutrition and a clear understanding of how to apply that knowledge in practice, recognizing the need for nurses to work with other healthcare professionals to ensure optimal nutrition in patient care. Thoroughly updated and revised, it combines nursing care with the nutritional information pertinent to today's classroom and clinical practice settings.
Nutrition in Pediatrics by
Nutrition in Pediatrics, 5th edition, provides a comprehensive and accessible approach to pediatric nutrition. The fifth edition, in 2-volumes, continues the expansion of the previous edition's section on pediatric obesity: epidemiology, pathophysiology, assessment and treatment. It includes new chapters on celiac disease, food allergies, and iron. Nutrition in Pediatrics includes expanded and updated chapters on international nutrition, including focused chapters on nutrition in low- and middle-income countries. The text is divided into seven sections: General Concepts in Pediatric Nutrition, Physiology and Pathophysiology, Perinatal Nutrition, Obesity, Nutrition in Low- and Middle-Income Countries, Nutritional Aspects of Specific Disease States, and Approach to Nutritional Support. Key Features: The valuable and comprehensive appendices - Nutritional Assessment, Nutritional Requirements, and Enteral Products - have been retained and updated in this edition.
Nutrition Support by
The study and practice of nutrition support has been evolving for centuries. The last 50 years has brought this practice in nutrition therapy to a very important place in medicine. As treatments have become more sophisticated in fighting disease and saving lives, the role nutrition support has become recognized as vital to patient care. The most current evidence based practice in the field is implemented to provide the best nutrition care to those in need. Selecting patients whom benefit from nutrition intervention is an important responsibility of the healthcare team, which includes identification of malnutrition. This area of practice demands an understanding of indications for the route of nutrition support, knowledge of access devices, and components of ordering and monitoring nutrition support regimes. Enteral nutrition has become the most utilized form of nutrition support, while parenteral nutrition remains a life sustaining measure for those with loss of gastrointestinal function. The variety of enteral formulas available is vast, and understanding indications and use is an ongoing challenge. Several ethical issues surrounding nutrition support, with end of life situations being a common dilemma. Application of evidence based practice in certain disease states and conditions demands literature review, collaboration, and implementation of identified best practices.
Preventive Nutrition: The Comprehensive Guide for Health Professionals by
This newly expanded and updated fifth edition will be the largest and most comprehensive of the five editions and new topics and chapter authors have been added. The authors have created the most comprehensive and up-to-date review of the nutritional strategies available for the prevention of disease and the promotion of health through nutrition. Patients are looking for credible information from their health care providers about a whole range of subjects covered here, including ß-carotene, lycopene, antioxidants, folate, and the myriad of bioactive phytochemicals found in garlic and other foods. With sections on cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and pregnancy among many others, this volume will be of great value to practicing health professionals, including physicians, nutritionists, dentists, pharmacists, dieticians, health educators, policy makers, health economists, regulatory agencies and research investigators. An entire section covers nutrition transitions around the world including Eastern Europe, Latin America and Asia as well as goals for preventive nutrition in developing countries. Preventive Nutrition: The Comprehensive Guide for Health Professionals, 5th Ed. is an important resource for thousands of health professionals who have been utilizing the previous editions since 1997.
The Science of Nutrition by
The Science of Nutrition, Third Edition offers the best combination of text and media to help students master the toughest nutrition concepts in the course, while providing the richest support to save instructors time. This thoroughly current, research-based nutrition text is uniquely organized around the highly regarded applied approach, which organizes vitamins and minerals based on their functions within the body and is easily seen in the organization of the micronutrient (vitamin and mineral) chapters. Rather than requiring rote memorization, the authors present the micronutrients based on their functions (such as fluid and electrolyte balance, antioxidant function, bone health, energy metabolism, and blood health and immunity), so that students can fully understand their effects on the body.
Vegetarian Nutrition and Wellness by
A large amount of research effort goes into assessing the health benefits of a plant-based diet, resulting from human desire to consume a more sustainable diet that is less destructive of the earth's natural resources. In addition, a growing number of people are choosing the vegan or total vegetarian diet because of the potential to greatly reduce the risk of chronic diseases and mortality rates. Although this interest in plant-based eating is popular, there exist concerns on the safety of some vegetarian diets, especially a vegan diet. This book describes issues of the vegetarian diet and outlines ways to prevent nutrient deficiencies. Vegetarian Nutrition and Wellness focuses on synthesizing research around vegetarian diets and human health. A major section of the book deals with how a vegetarian diet protects population groups from the major chronic diseases, such as cardiovascular diseases, obesity, and various cancers. Based upon ecological and clinical studies, chapter authors explain the health-promoting properties of plant-based diets, and compare/contrast health outcomes obtained from consuming omnivorous diets with a vegetarian or vegan diet. Fruits and vegetables figure prominently in vegetarian diets and provide a substantial effect in disease reduction and health-promoting properties of a plant-based diet. Vegetarian Nutrition and Wellnessis written for the academic community, registered dietitians, health professionals, and graduate students in nutrition and public health. Each chapter provides a comprehensive review of the scientific literature and includes a concise summary at the beginning of each chapter. The time is ripe for this book to update the scientific community with a collage of well-documented topics on vegetarian nutrition.