Latin American Studies

The LAEDA project at the University of Texas – Austin seeks to collect, preserve, and provide access to data sets relevant to Latin American research, policy analysis, and teaching. The focus of the collection is on electoral data, household surveys, and data relevant to public policy evaluation.

In 2004, LAPOP established the AmericasBarometer as multi-country, regularly conducted survey of democratic values and behaviors in the Americas, organized by a consortium of academic and think-tank partners in the hemisphere. Through years of polling an expanding set of countries using sophisticated techniques, LAPOP has developed a treasure trove of high quality data on political views within the Americas. Many of these surveys are available physically in the libraries. Search LAPOP in the catalog.

offers an annual study of public opinion from over 19, 000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants.

locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. To date, the LAD collection holds nearly twelve hundred studies from 16 countries, with the largest contributions coming from Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.

conducts public opinion surveys around the world on a broad array of subjects ranging from people's assessments of their own lives to their views about the current state of the world and important issues of the day. More than 240,000 interviews in 57 countries have been conducted as part of the project's work.

an ongoing multidisciplinary study of migration from Mexico to the United States, has released data for 150 communities (MMP150), which includes the original 143 communities plus 9 new additional communities: five from the state of Queretaro and four from the state of Tabasco. The MMP150 has information on 23,923 Mexican households, 957 U.S. households, and individual-level data on 157,879 persons. These data contain information on 8,052 household heads with migration experience to the U.S. and information on 49 household heads with Canadian migration experience.

Provides "collection information from the floristic and systematic investigations of the phanerogams (flowering plants) of Andean South America. ABIS is developing a networked database of specimen-label data for selected groups of Andean plants, including the flora of coastal Peru and Chile, floristic inventories of montane forests of northern Peru, and monographic treatments with online images."

Way Cool! CyArk is a 501c3 non profit organization with the mission of: digitally preserving cultural heritage sites through collecting, archiving and providing open access to data created by laser scanning, digital modeling, and other state-of-the-art technologies.

is a non-profit venture promoting sustainable global development and achievement of the United Nations Millennium Development Goals by increased use and understanding of statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels.

a project dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. Its goals are to: Collect and preserve data and documentation, Harmonize data, disseminate the data absolutely free!

a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Our mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.

enables you to view and download data and metadata for over 200 countries or territories from LABORSTA, an International Labour Office database on labour statistics operated by the ILO Department of Statistics.

IPUMS-International is dedicated to collecting and distributing census data from around the world. The project goals are to collect and preserve data and documentation, harmonize data, and disseminate the harmonized data free of charge.

IPUMS Terra integrates population and environmental data across disciplinary scientific domains, enabling research into dramatic transformations of human populations, the environment, and their interactions.