Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Digital Collections

Specialized Digital Collections

Teatro Espanol del Siglo de Oro
Digital editions of works (848 ebooks) by 16 major authors Spanish, Golden Age writers, including Lope de Vega, Miguel de Cervantes, Caldern de la Barca, and Tirso de Molina.
Classical Mexican Cinema
Popular movie periodicals from the archives of Filmoteca de la UNAM in Mexico City. Includes digitized film flyers and access to the scrap books of Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958). Coverage: 1930s-1960s
Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1
This digitized collection of US Hispanic history, literature, and culture and provides access to Spanish content with some English content gathered by the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project. It is a great example of community archiving.Coverage: colonial times to 1960
World Scholar Archives: Latin America and the Caribbean
This collection of articles, maps, statistics, audio, video, and primary documents supports undergraduate student research in Latin American and Caribbean history, politics, economics, sociology and culture.
Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange
Documents explore the history of fifteen major commodities in global trade. Documents include a vast range of visual, manuscript and printed materials, maps, posters, paintings, photographs, ephemera, etc. sourced from organizations around the world. Coverage: BCE-present.

The Palofaxiana (Colmex)The Palafox Library dates back to 1646. Donated by the Bishop of Puebla, Juan de Palafox y Mendoza, this personal library is comprised of 45052 books, 5345 manuscripts and 3023 loose papers. This collection is particularly useful for research on the administration of the ecclesiastical government of Puebla and other dioceses during the colonial period.