Research Guides: Public Administration: State, Tribal & Local

NM Data Resources

SHARE New Mexico
This statewide website consolidates public and private sector information about a wide range of issues including health.
Bureau of Business and Economic Research (UNM)
Includes summary NM socioeconomic and population statistics. BBER will also consult with users.
Cradle to Career Policy Institute (UNM)
Resources on various NM education policy issues that includes reports, statistics, and data visualization.
New Mexico Voices
A non-profit agency that publishes reports and statistics related to child well-being issues (e.g. poverty) in NM.
NM Department of Workforce Solutions
NM state statistics and reports on labor force and economics.
New Mexico Department of Finance & Administration
"Provides sound fiscal advice and problem solving support to the Governor, provide budget direction and fiscal oversight to state agencies and local governments."
State Government Finances (US Census)
Data from the Census of Government of state and local governments (all states).

Tiller's Guide to Indian Country: Economic Profiles of American Indian Reservations (2015)
Call Number: Zim: E93 .T55 2015
This comprehensive guide explores each tribe's history and modern-day life, including location and land status, government and infrastructure, community services and facilities, culture and history, economic activity, and contact information with official tribal website addresses. It covers 562 federally recognized tribes in 33 American states.

National Indian Health Board: Public Health
An advocate that researches and develops tribal, local, state, and national health policy, among other issues.
American Indian Health (NLM)
Research, Statistics and other resources from the National Library of Medicine
American Indian Research Program
From UCLA - this program investigates health disparities of American Indians.
National Congress of American Indians: Policy Issues
This site from NCAI looks at various policy issues related to American Indians.
Native American Health Information Services (UNM)
The Native American Health Information Services Program connects the Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center (HSLIC) to Native Americans in New Mexico.

New Mexico Department of Health
The State's health department includes reports/publications and health data.
Center for Health Policy (UNM)
The Center's purpose is to increase the diversity of those with formal training in the fields of economics, political science and sociology who engage in health services and health policy research.
National Association of County & City Health Officials
NACCHO advocates for health via public policy. It has reports and other resources.
Public Health New Mexico
A KUNM reporting project focusing on people, policy and impact.

New Mexico Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspaper articles from the Albuquerque Journal (coverage: 1995-current), Las Cruces Sun-News (coverage: 2004-current), and Roswell Daily Record (coverage: 2002-current).
South Central US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Access to the Albuquerque Journal (1995 - current), The Santa Fe New Mexican (1994 - current), Taos News (2007-present), and indexes the New Mexico Business Journal (1985-1998).