Research Guides: Public Administration: US & NM Data & Stats

Major US government data providers

US Census
US population statistics, along with economic data (local, county, state and national). A treasure trove.
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
Nine major datasets from the US Census (microdata samples) and other federal agencies on education, health, environment; and even international population data.
Bureau of Economic Analysis
BEA produces some of the most closely watched economic statistics (e.g. GDP, NIPAs) that influence the decisions made by government officials, business people, households, and individuals.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS is "the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy."
Center for Disease Control & Prevention: Data & Statistics
Lots of information on various health related issues.
Data.gov
Data.gov includes searchable data catalogs providing access to data in three ways: through the "raw" data catalog, the tool catalog and the geodata catalog.
Federal Reserve Economic Data
Current data from the St. Louis Federal Reserve. Archival Data at ALFRED.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
National Center for Health Statistics (CDC)
A rich source of information about America's health that compile statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health.
USA Spending.gov
This US Gov't site provides the public with information about how their tax dollars are spent.

Public Opinion

Roper Center Archives for Public Opinion Research (iPoll) This link opens in a new window
Public opinion polling data from U.S. and international polling firms on a broad range of topics including opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs. Download datasets and tables. Coverage: 1935 to present.

Data Repositories

Data Guide from Princeton
This fantastic guide categories data sites by subject and region. Use the Data Catalog (left bar) to find specific sources.

Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) This link opens in a new window
An archive for storing/sharing data generated through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. It also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives. The repository’s initial emphasis is on political science.
GIDEON (Global Infectious Diseases & Epidemiology Online Network This link opens in a new window
One-stop resource for data on infectious diseases (over 2,000 pathogens). Provides information on diseases: history of outbreaks back to 1348AD, geographic spread, and treatment. Includes a visualization tool to create charts as well as a differential diagnosis tool. Information updated daily to provide the most current information.
ICPSR (datasets) This link opens in a new window
Data files and documentation covering wide range of social science areas. Data available in many format, such as SAS, SPSS, and Stata.

New Mexico Data Sources

SHARE New Mexico
This statewide website consolidates public and private sector information about a wide range of issues including health.
Cradle to Career Policy Institute (UNM)
It collects and publicizes data to informed policy change for excellence in education.
Bureau of Business & Economic Research
"BBER at the UNM conducts economic and demographic research and analysis about New Mexico. It also maintains a major depository of socioeconomic data for the State.”
New Mexico Voices
Data, statistics and other resources about children in New Mexico.
New Mexico Digital Collection
a central search portal for digital collections including digitized photographs, manuscripts, posters, oral histories, videos, maps, and books from libraries, museums, and cultural centers across the state. Part of the UNM Libraries Center for Southwest Research.

Map/Visualize Data

PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
Visualize and map thousands of socioeconomic variables covering the United States (local to national). Create reports on specific Census geographies. Download reports, data, and maps. Coverage: 2000-present.
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Map various demographic and socioeconomic variables from United States Census, Statistics Canada, UK Data Centre, and Eurostat. Download maps/data. Coverage: 1790-present.
Users must create and log into your personal account on Social Explorer.

GapMinder
It uses its videos and data visualization tools to help people better understand statistics and other information about social, economic and environmental development at local, national and global levels.