Beautiful Evidence by Edward R. TufteScience and art have in common intense seeing, the wide-eyed observing that generates empirical information. Beautiful Evidence is about how seeing turns into showing, how empirical observations turn into explanations and evidence presentations. The book identifies excellent and effective methods for presenting information, suggests new designs, and provides tools for assessing the credibility of evidence presentations.Here we will see many close readings of serious evidence presentations-ranging through evolutionary trees and rocket science to economics, art history, and sculpture. Insistent application of the principles of analytical thinking helps both insiders and outsiders assess the credibility of evidence.
Call Number: P93.5 .T837 2006 (Zimmerman)
Publication Date: 2008
Cool infographics: effective communication with data visualization and design by Randy KrumMake information memorable with creative visual design techniques Research shows that visual information is more quickly and easily understood, and much more likely to be remembered. This innovative book presents the design process and the best software tools for creating infographics that communicate. Including a special section on how to construct the increasingly popular infographic resume, the book offers graphic designers, marketers, and business professionals vital information on the most effective ways to present data. Explains why infographics and data visualizations work Shares the tools and techniques for creating great infographics Covers online infographics used for marketing, including social media and search engine optimization (SEO) Shows how to market your skills with a visual, infographic resume Explores the many internal business uses of infographics, including board meeting presentations, annual reports, consumer research statistics, marketing strategies, business plans, and visual explanations of products and services to your customers With Cool Infographics, you'll learn to create infographics to successfully reach your target audience and tell clear stories with your data.
Call Number: (ebook)
Publication Date: 2013
Data Visualization: principles and practice by Alexandru C. TeleaDesigning a complete visualization system involves many subtle decisions. When designing a complex, real-world visualization system, such decisions involve many types of constraints, such as performance, platform (in)dependence, available programming languages and styles, user-interface toolkits, input/output data format constraints, integration with third-party code, and more. Focusing on those techniques and methods with the broadest applicability across fields, the second edition of Data Visualization: Principles and Practiceprovides a streamlined introduction to various visualization techniques. The book illustrates a wide variety of applications of data visualizations, illustrating the range of problems that can be tackled by such methods, and emphasizes the strong connections between visualization and related disciplines such as imaging and computer graphics. It covers a wide range of sub-topics in data visualization: data representation; visualization of scalar, vector, tensor, and volumetric data; image processing and domain modeling techniques; and information visualization. See What's New in the Second Edition: Additional visualization algorithms and techniques New examples of combined techniques for diffusion tensor imaging (DTI) visualization, illustrative fiber track rendering, and fiber bundling techniques Additional techniques for point-cloud reconstruction Additional advanced image segmentation algorithms Several important software systems and libraries Algorithmic and software design issues are illustrated throughout by (pseudo)code fragments written in the C++ programming language. Exercises covering the topics discussed in the book, as well as datasets and source code, are also provided as additional online resources.
Call Number: (ebook)
Publication Date: 2014
Envisioning Information by Edward R. TufteThis book celebrates escapes from the flatlands of both paper and computer screen, showing superb displays of high-dimensional complex data. The most design-oriented of Edward Tufte's books, Envisioning Information shows maps, charts, scientific presentations, diagrams, computer interfaces, statistical graphics and tables, stereo photographs, guidebooks, courtroom exhibits, timetables, use of color, a pop-up, and many other wonderful displays of information. The book provides practical advice about how to explain complex material by visual means, with extraordinary examples to illustrate the fundamental principles of information displays. Topics include escaping flatland, color and information, micro/macro designs, layering and separation, small multiples, and narratives. Winner of 17 awards for design and content. 400 illustrations with exquisite 6- to 12-color printing throughout. Highest quality design and production.
Call Number: QA90 T764 1990 (Centennial & Fine Arts)
Publication Date: 1990
Presenting Data: How to Communicate Your Message Effectively by Ed Swires-HennessyA clear easy-to-read guide to presenting your message using statistical data Poor presentation of data is everywhere; basic principles are forgotten or ignored. As a result, audiences are presented with confusing tables and charts that do not make immediate sense. This book is intended to be read by all who present data in any form. The author, a chartered statistician who has run many courses on the subject of data presentation, presents numerous examples alongside an explanation of how improvements can be made and basic principles to adopt. He advocates following four key 'C' words in all messages: Clear, Concise, Correct and Consistent. Following the principles in the book will lead to clearer, simpler and easier to understand messages which can then be assimilated faster. Anyone from student to researcher, journalist to policy adviser, charity worker to government statistician, will benefit from reading this book. More importantly, it will also benefit the recipients of the presented data. 'Ed Swires-Hennessy, a recognised expert in the presentation of statistics, explains and clearly describes a set of "principles" of clear and objective statistical communication. This book should be required reading for all those who present statistics.' Richard Laux, UK Statistics Authority 'I think this is a fantastic book and hope everyone who presents data or statistics makes time to read it first.' David Marder, Chief Media Adviser, Office for National Statistics, UK 'Ed's book makes his tried-and-tested material widely available to anyone concerned with understanding and presenting data. It is full of interesting insights, is highly practical and packed with sensible suggestions and nice ideas that you immediately want to try out.' Dr Shirley Coleman, Principal Statistician, Industrial Statistics Research Unit, School of Mathematics and Statistics, Newcastle University, UK
Call Number: (ebook)
Publication Date: 2014
R Data Visualization Recipes by Vitor Bianchi LanzettaIf you are looking to create custom data visualization solutions using the R programming language and are stuck somewhere in the process, this book will come to your rescue. Prior exposure to packages such as ggplot2 would be useful but not necessary. However, some R programming knowledge is required.
Call Number: (ebook)
Publication Date: 2017
Storytelling with data: a data visualization guide for business professionals by Cole Nussbaumer KnaflicDon't simply show your data--tell a story with it! Storytelling with Data teaches you the fundamentals of data visualization and how to communicate effectively with data. You'll discover the power of storytelling and the way to make data a pivotal point in your story. The lessons in this illuminative text are grounded in theory, but made accessible through numerous real-world examples--ready for immediate application to your next graph or presentation. Storytelling is not an inherent skill, especially when it comes to data visualization, and the tools at our disposal don't make it any easier. This book demonstrates how to go beyond conventional tools to reach the root of your data, and how to use your data to create an engaging, informative, compelling story. Specifically, you'll learn how to: Understand the importance of context and audience Determine the appropriate type of graph for your situation Recognize and eliminate the clutter clouding your information Direct your audience's attention to the most important parts of your data Think like a designer and utilize concepts of design in data visualization Leverage the power of storytelling to help your message resonate with your audience Together, the lessons in this book will help you turn your data into high impact visual stories that stick with your audience. Rid your world of ineffective graphs, one exploding 3D pie chart at a time. There is a story in your data--Storytelling with Data will give you the skills and power to tell it!
Call Number: QA76.9.I52 K534 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The Visual Display of Quantitative Information by Edward R. TufteThis book deals with the theory and practice in the design of data graphics and makes the point that the most effective way to describe, explore, and summarize a set of numbers is to look at pictures of those numbers, through the use of statistical graphics, charts, and tables. It includes 250 illustrations of the best (and a few of the worst) statistical graphics, with detailed analysis of how to display data for precise, effective, quick analysis. Also offered is information on the design of the high-resolution displays, small multiples, editing and improving graphics, and the data-ink ratio. Time-series, relational graphics, data maps, multivariate designs, as well as detection of graphical deception: design variation vs. data variation, and sources of deception are discussed. Information on aesthetics and data graphical displays is included. The 2nd edition provides high-resolution color reproductions of the many graphics of William Playfair (1750-1800), adds color to other images where appropriate, and includes all the changes and corrections during the 17 printings of the 1st edition.
Call Number: QA276.3 .T83 2001 (Centennial)
Publication Date: 2001
Visual Strategies by Felice C. Frankel; Angela H. DePaceAny scientist or engineer who communicates research results will immediately recognize this practical handbook as an indispensable tool. The guide sets out clear strategies and offers abundant examples to assist researchers--even those with no previous design training--with creating effective visual graphics for use in multiple contexts, including journal submissions, grant proposals, conference posters, or presentations. Visual communicator Felice Frankel and systems biologist Angela DePace, along with experts in various fields, demonstrate how small changes can vastly improve the success of a graphic image. They dissect individual graphics, show why some work while others don't, and suggest specific improvements. The book includes analyses of graphics that have appeared in such journals as Science, Nature, Annual Reviews, Cell, PNAS, and the New England Journal of Medicine, as well as an insightful personal conversation with designer Stefan Sagmeister and narratives by prominent researchers and animators.
Data visualization content from Nature Methods' Points of View column is organized in a single webpage. Includes a variety of insights into effective and creative ways to visualize data, with a particular focus on the sciences.