Welcome! This guide is designed to help connect you with useful tools for working on your capstone projects.
The UNM Libraries have many other resources available for your research, and you should feel free to arrange research consultations if you have trouble finding what you need. Please don't hesitate to reach out!
- Holly Surbaugh, Your Engineering Librarian
Note: During Spring 2024, STEM Librarian Amy Jankowski will temporarily serve the needs of CBE department. Please reach out to her for consultations during this time.
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
Comprehensive source for chemical information on the upgraded SciFinder-n platform. Locate journal articles, dissertations, patents, synthesis plans, spectra, and more. Can search by structure or physical property.
Account required. Note: See the SciFinder Guide or contact Holly Surbaugh for details. Coverage 1907-present.
Articles on business, management, marketing, and organizations from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also, includes current company, industry, and country reports from third parties. Coverage 1820-present.
An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
Chemical Engineering Design by
Chemical Engineering Design, Second Edition, deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Revised throughout, this edition has been specifically developed for the U.S. market. It provides the latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards. It contains new discussions of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development, and revamp design; extended coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing, and economics; and new chapters on equipment selection, reactor design, and solids handling processes. A rigorous pedagogy assists learning, with detailed worked examples, end of chapter exercises, plus supporting data, and Excel spreadsheet calculations, plus over 150 Patent References for downloading from the companion website. Extensive instructor resources, including 1170 lecture slides and a fully worked solutions manual are available to adopting instructors. This text is designed for chemical and biochemical engineering students (senior undergraduate year, plus appropriate for capstone design courses where taken, plus graduates) and lecturers/tutors, and professionals in industry (chemical process, biochemical, pharmaceutical, petrochemical sectors). New to this edition: Revised organization into Part I: Process Design, and Part II: Plant Design. The broad themes of Part I are flowsheet development, economic analysis, safety and environmental impact and optimization. Part II contains chapters on equipment design and selection that can be used as supplements to a lecture course or as essential references for students or practicing engineers working on design projects. New discussion of conceptual plant design, flowsheet development and revamp design Significantly increased coverage of capital cost estimation, process costing and economics New chapters on equipment selection, reactor design and solids handling processes New sections on fermentation, adsorption, membrane separations, ion exchange and chromatography Increased coverage of batch processing, food, pharmaceutical and biological processes All equipment chapters in Part II revised and updated with current information Updated throughout for latest US codes and standards, including API, ASME and ISA design codes and ANSI standards Additional worked examples and homework problems The most complete and up to date coverage of equipment selection 108 realistic commercial design projects from diverse industries A rigorous pedagogy assists learning, with detailed worked examples, end of chapter exercises, plus supporting data and Excel spreadsheet calculations plus over 150 Patent References, for downloading from the companion website Extensive instructor resources: 1170 lecture slides plus fully worked solutions manual available to adopting instructors
Chemical Engineering Design by
Chemical Engineering Design is one of the best-known and widely adopted texts available for students of chemical engineering. It deals with the application of chemical engineering principles to the design of chemical processes and equipment. Revised throughout, the fourth edition covers the latest aspects of process design, operations, safety, loss prevention and equipment selection, among others. Comprehensive and detailed, the book is supported by problems and selected solutions. In addition the book is widely used by professionals as a day-to-day reference. Best selling chemical engineering text Revised to keep pace with the latest chemical industry changes; designed to see students through from undergraduate study to professional practice End of chapter exercises and solutions
Chemical Process Equipment by
Chemical Process Equipment is a results-oriented reference for engineers who specify, design, maintain or run chemical and process plants. This book delivers information on the selection, sizing and operation of process equipment in a format that enables quick and accurate decision making on standard process and equipment choices, saving time, improving productivity, and building understanding. Coverage emphasizes common real-world equipment design rather than experimental or esoteric and focuses on maximizing performance. Legacy reference for chemical and related engineers who work with vendors to design, specify and make final equipment selection decisions Copious examples of successful applications, with supporting schematics and data to illustrate the functioning and performance of equipment Provides equipment rating forms and manufacturers' data, worked examples, valuable shortcut methods, and rules of thumb to demonstrate and support the design process Heavily illustrated with line drawings and schematics to aid understanding, as well as graphs and tables to illustrate performance data
Chemical Product Technology by
Chemical Product Technology focuses on materials chemistry and introduces industrial manufacturing technologies for different product types. The author presents a full cycle of product development for the materials that are used in everyday live, such as cosmetics, dyes, drugs, papers, textiles, agrochemicals, etc., starting from product selection and up to setup of manufacturing process.
Ludwig's Applied Process Design for Chemical and Petrochemical Plants by
The Fourth Edition of Applied Process Design for Chemical and Petrochemical Plants Volume 2 builds upon the late Ernest E. LudwigOCOs classic chemical engineering process design manual. Volume Two focuses on distillation and packed towers, and presents the methods and fundamentals of plant design along with supplemental mechanical and related data, nomographs, data charts and heuristics. The Fourth Edition is significantly expanded and updated, with new topics that ensure readers can analyze problems and find practical design methods and solutions to accomplish their process design objectives. A true application-driven book, providing clarity and easy access to essential process plant data and design informationCovers a complete range of basic day-to-day petrochemical operation topicsExtensively revised with new material on distillation process performance; complex-mixture fractionating, gas processing, dehydration, hydrocarbon absorption and stripping; enhanced distillation types"
Advanced Process Engineering Control by
As a mature topic in chemical engineering, the book provides methods, problems and tools used in process control engineering. It discusses: process knowledge, sensor system technology, actuators, communication technology, and logistics, design and construction of control systems and their operation. The knowledge goes beyond the traditional process engineering field by applying the same principles, to biomedical processes, energy production and management of environmental issues. The book explains all the determinations in the "chemical systems" or "process systems", starting from the beginning of the processes, going through the intricate interdependency of the process stages, analyzing the hardware components of a control system and ending with the design of an appropriate control system for a process parameter or a whole process. The book is first addressed to the students and graduates of the departments of Chemical or Process Engineering. Second, to the chemical or process engineers in all industries or research and development centers, because they will notice the resemblance in approach from the system and control point of view, between different fields which might seem far from each other, but share the same control philosophy.
Chemical Product Design by
Until recently, the chemical industry has been dominated by the manufacture of bulk commodity chemicals such as benzene, ammonia, and polypropylene. However, over the last decade a significant shift occurred. Now most chemical companies devote any new resources to the design and manufacture of specialty, high value-added chemical products such as pharmaceuticals, cosmetics, and electronic coatings. Although the jobs held by chemical engineers have also changed to reflect this altered business, their training has remained static, emphasizing traditional commodities. This ground-breaking text starts to redress the balance between commodities and higher value-added products. It expands the scope of chemical engineering design to encompass both process design and product design. The authors use a four-step procedure for chemical product design - needs, ideas, selection, manufacture - drawing numerous examples from industry to illustrate the discussion. The book concludes with a brief review of the economic issues. Chemical engineering students and beginning chemical engineers will find this text an inviting introduction to chemical product design.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
The fifth edition of the Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology, builds upon the solid foundation of the previous editions, which have proven to be a mainstay for chemists, biochemists, and engineers at academic, industrial, and government institutions since publication of the first edition in 1949.
Dekker Encyclopedia of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology
This reference identifies current challenges and development paths sure to influence fields ranging from materials and surface science, chemistry and biomedicine to computer technology, information processing, and mechanical, optical, and electrical engineering.
Branan's Rules of Thumb for Chemical Engineers
The most complete guide of its kind, this is the favored handbook for chemical and process engineers who need a reliable and authoritative solution to their practical on the job problems. Includes all new material on new processing sectors, include biopharmaceuticals.
Handbook of Chemical and Environmental Engineering Calculations
An interdisciplinary approach to creating environmental solutions Because of the ubiquitous nature of environmental problems, a variety of scientific disciplines are involved in the development of environmental solutions. The Handbook of Chemical and Environmental Engineering Calculations provides approximately 600 real-world, practical solutions to environmental problems that involve chemical engineering, enabling engineers and applied scientists to meet the professional challenges they face day-to-day. The scientific and mathematical crossover between chemical and environmental engineering is the key to solving a host of environmental problems. Many problems included in the Handbook are intended to demonstrate this crossover, as well as the integration of engineering with current regulations and environmental media such as air, soil, and water. Solutions to the problems are presented in a programmed instructional format. Each problem contains a title, problem statement, data, and solution, with the more difficult problems located near the end of each problem set. The Handbook offers material not only to individuals with limited technical background but also to those with extensiv
Biofuels handbook. / Volume 1, Fuels from conventional and unconventional sources
This timely handbook is written to assist the reader in understanding the options that available for the production of synthetic fuel from biological sources. Each chapter contains tables of the chemical and physical properties of the fuels and fuel sources.
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook
Covers various aspects of chemical engineering - from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control. This title features 2,400 pages and 700 illustrations.
Handbook of Chemical Technology and Pollution Control, 3rd Edition
The Handbook of Chemical Technology and Pollution Control (3rd Edition) provides a detailed review of the chemistry and operating conditions of many of the present large-scale chemical processes important to our economy and high standards of living. The processes that could lead to emissions affecting our air, soil, and water are considered, together with ways in which it may be possible to reduce or eliminate these pollutants. Focusing on cleaner production concepts without neglecting 'end of pipe' measures.
Have you completed a research project in an undergraduate course? Then enter our 2024 Hulsman Award competition for cash prizes! Any format is welcome, including research papers, design portfolios, compositions, posters, film, digital projects, and more. If you used library or other information sources to inform your work, you could win!
The Jim and Mary Lois Hulsman Undergraduate Library Research Award program recognizes excellence in undergraduate research that incorporates the use of University Libraries resources and demonstrates sophisticated information literacy skills. All UNM main campus undergraduate students are eligible.
Student award winners receive recognition and a cash prize:
Send questions to ugresearchaward@unm.edu.
The deadline to enter for the 2024 awards cycle is February 12, 2024.
