Research Guides: Medieval Resources: Books

Search for books

Use the search box below to find print and electronic books.

Library of Congress Classification (call numbers) are useful to know for your area of concentration - it helps you locating books in the library stacks. Check the links below for detailed information about call number ranges. Each file shows the overview first; subsequent pages shows very detailed breakdown of the topic.

Class C - Auxiliary Sciences of History
Includes history of civilization and archeology
Class D - World History and History of Europe, Asia, Africa, etc.
D101-110.5 = Medieval and modern history, 476 -
D111-203 = Medieval history
D135-149 = Migrations
D151-173 = Crusades
D175-195 = Latin Kingdom of Jerusalem. Latin Orient, 1099-1291
D200-203 = Later medieval. 11th-15th centuries

DA = Great Britain
DC = France
DD = Germany
DG = Italy
DK = Russia
DP = Spain and Portugal
DS = Asia
Class E-F -- History of the Americas
Class E = America / United States
Class F = US Local History (F791-805 = New Mexico)
Class F: 1201-3799 = Latin America. Spanish

E-Books

UNM LIbraries has more than 4,000 e-books that deals with some aspect of medieval history, literature, philosophy, etc. Here is a very small selections to give you an idea of the scope.

Conduct a search from the UNM Library home page for: Medieval and then limit to:

UNM Main Campus
Format: eBook

Below is a sample with direct links to the ebooks

The Generation of Identity in Late Medieval Hagiography
In this interdisciplinary and boundary breaking study, Gail Ashton examines the depiction of female saints in a wide range of medieval texts.
Historical Dictionary of Late Medieval England, 1272-1485
Providing the chronological setting for many of Shakespeare's plays, various swashbuckling novels from Sir Walter Scott's to Robert Louis Stevenson's, and Hollywood films. Yet its true complexity remains elusive, locked in the covers of specialized monographs and journal articles. It is a valuable guide for those wishing to understand this complex, tumultuous, and until recently, poorly understood era.
The Medieval Chronicle VII by Juliana Dresvina
Publication Date: 2011
Aims to provide a representative survey of the on-going research in the field of chronicle studies, illustrated by examples from specific chronicles from a wide variety of countries, periods and cultural backgrounds. The Medieval Chronicle is published in cooperation with the Medieval Chronicle Society.
The Medieval Heart
Drawing from the works of Dante, Catherine of Siena, Boccaccio, Aquinas, and Cavalcanti and other literary, philosophic, and scientific texts, the author reveals medieval answers to such fundamental questions as: Where is life located? What does it consist of? Where does it begin? And how does it end?
Foodways and Daily Life in Medieval Anatolia
Investigating daily life in Anatolia during the fourteenth century, the author draws on a creative array of sources, including hagiographies, archaeological evidence, Sufi poetry, and endowment deeds, to present an accessible portrait of a severely under-documented period. Grounded in the many ways food enters the human experience,
Medieval Households
The author demonstrates how modern society moved toward its definition of 'family' and shows its emergence in the medieval period. He uses scattered and diverse source material to trace the development of the family from Roman times to the medieval development of common expectations of family life applicable to all classes.
Medieval Monastic Education
While the role of monastic education has been studied in great detail in regard to male practices, this book examines the differences between the monastic formation and education of men and of women in Western Europe from the eighth to the sixteenth century.
Medieval Music and the Art of Memory
Asking such fundamental questions as how singers managed to memorise such an enormous amount of music and how music composed in the mind rather than in writing has affected musical style, this text explores the impact of the art of memory on the composition and transmission of medieval music.
The Medieval Surgery
The author provides a complete set of illustrations which accompany a 13th-century Anglo-Norman translation of Roger of Parma's Surgery (c.1180), the first original treatise on surgery to be written in the medieval West. His commentary relates the drawings precisely to the sections of text they illustrate, providing accurate identification of the different medical treatments depicted, fusing careful translation from the Latin text with modern medical perception.

Online Books

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Contains books and scholarly journals digitized from libraries around the world covering many topics and languages. Choose University of New Mexico for full access to restricted content and log in with NetID
Choose University of New Mexico for full access to restricted content and log in with UNM NetID.

Project Gutenberg
Offers over 49,000 free ebooks

Patrologia Latina This link opens in a new window
Covers the works of the Latin Fathers from Tertullian to the death of Pope Innocent III. Covers most major and minor Latin authors, and contains the most influential works of late ancient and early medieval theology, philosophy, history, and literature.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Information about North America, Central America, South America, the Arctic, Antarctica, and the West Indies, published across the globe.This collection of many hard-to-find primary sources covers society, politics, culture, religious beliefs, and contemporary opinions, at home and abroad.
As well, included are original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the Western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery, and abolition. Coverage: 1500 to 1926.

Bibliographies and Histories

International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in scholarly journals, conference proceedings, and collections of essays about the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500). Publications are classified by date, subject and location, and provide full bibliographical records.
Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Books covering histories across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.

A Cumulative Bibliography of Medieval Military History and Technology by K. Devries
ISBN: 9789047401018
Publication Date: 2002
Utilizing library catalogues, bibliographies, and footnotes, this bibliography has compiled the most complete list of secondary references to works in medieval military history and the history of military technology.