Research Guides: Medieval Resources: Reference

Encyclopedias - Medieval History

Oxford Very Short Introductions This link opens in a new window
Offer concise introductions (ebooks) to a diverse range of subjects from Climate to Consciousness, Game Theory to Ancient Warfare, Privacy to Islamic History, Economics to Literary Theory.
1-concurrent user.

The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
Call Number: Zim: D114 .O94 2010
An essential new reference work covering all aspects of European history, society, and culture from AD 500 to 1500.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
Call Number: Zim: D114 E53 1999
From the world's most distinguished medievalist comes a lively and vivid account of the lords and ladies, saints and scholars, kings and peasants who shaped the history and culture of one of the richest and most misunderstood periods in history. In this full-color, landmark reference.
Encyclopedia of Women in the Middle Ages
Call Number: HQ1143 .L38 2001
This is a reference to the culture, history and circumstances of women in the Middle Ages, from the years 500 to 1500 C.E. It not only profiles individual queens, empresses, and other women in positions of leadership but also provides information about topics such as work, marriage and family, households, employment, religion, and various other aspects of women's lives in the Middle Ages
Women in the Middle Ages
Call Number: HQ1143 .W643 2004
Medieval women shaped political and domestic life, founded and nurtured religious orders and created numerous enduring literary works. Comprehensive in scope, meticulous in scholarship and accessible in style to general readers and specialists alike, this encyclopedia offers full coverage of the myriad roles, experiences and contributions of women in the medieval world.

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
Books covering histories across the humanities and social sciences, with a concentration on political and cultural history, literature, philosophy, religious studies, music, and the arts.
OED (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new window
The OED Online is great for looking up the etymology of words (the history of words, their origins, and how their form and meaning have changed over time). It contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Reference books, encyclopedias, non-fiction books, and many leading history periodicals. Also includes historical documents, biographies, photos and maps, and video.