Research Guides: Architecture &amp; Landscape Architecture: Data (United States)

US Government Data

Data.Census.Gov This link opens in a new window
Access to the United States Census Bureau's population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Coverage: 2000-present.
Bureau of Transportation Statistics This link opens in a new window
A leading source of statistics and documents on the United States transportation systems used for moving people and goods, and on their impacts on the economy, society and the environment.

Bureau of Economic Analysis This link opens in a new window
Economic statistics of national, regional, industry, and international accounts, including gross domestic product (GDP), personal income, corporate profits, and international transaction statistics. Coverage 1929-present.

American Time Use Survey (BLS)
This BLS survey measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
American Housing Survey (U.S. Census data)
Building Permits Survey (U.S. Census)
HUD eGIS Open Data Storefront

Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS)
Nine major datasets from the US Census (microdata samples) and other federal agencies on education, health, environment; and even international population data.
Zillow Research Data
Download rental data, real estate inventory and sales data

NBER Working Papers (National Bureau Of Economic Research) This link opens in a new window
Working papers, data, and other research conducted by hundreds of top economic scholars. Studies employ many different methods covering many economic topics. Coverage: 1920s-present.

ICPSR (datasets) This link opens in a new window
The Inter-University Consortium for Political & Social Research (ICPSR) maintains a dataset archive of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.
Each study's dataset provides documentation (e.g. codebook), and a bibliography of published articles that used the data. Data offered in many formats.
Must create an ICPSR account to download data. Coverage: 1700s-present.

US Census Academy
Webinar, courses, and other learning resources for using various products from the Census