Research Guides: Architecture &amp; Landscape Architecture: Water &amp; Environmental Resources

Water & Environmental Resources Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Books and articles on a wide range of topics related to the environment, including agriculture, renewable energy sources, pollution and waste management, and more. Coverage: 1880-present.
Western Waters Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material. Coverage: 1800s-present.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to the North American and international geoscience literature including journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses. Includes all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1669-present.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.
Biosis Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Extensive research resource for life science and biomedical information. Content includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and patents. Subjects include botany, zoology, microbiology, pharmacology, genetics, medicine, and more.
Citation analysis tools are provided. Coverage 1926 to present
National Geographic Virtual Library Archives This link opens in a new window
Digitzed archive of this popular magazine includes articles, photos, and map supplements. Coverage 1888-1994.

Selected Water Related Journals

Water Resources & Economics
This scholar journal addresses the financial and economic dimensions affecting the use of water resources.
Water Resources
The journal present materials on the assessment of water resources, integrated waterresource use, water quality, and environmental protection.
Water Resources & Rural Development
The journal publishes papers describing the role of water resources in supporting livelihood activities in rural areas. Its primary interest is in the impacts of water resources policy and management on rural livelihoods and household welfare.
Water Resources Research
An interdisciplinary journal that publishes original research in the natural and social sciences of water. This includes the role of water in the physical, chemical, biological, and ecological sciences; public health; and related social and policy sciences.
Water Research
Official journal of the International Water Association with a focus on water quality and management.

Water Reports & Sites

Estimated use of water in the United States in 2015
USGS report discusses the reduced use of water in the US for public and industry.
All About Water
Water Properties and Measurements created by courtesy of Berkey Filters.
Water for Life (2005-2015)
A 10-year-long UN taskforce site that includes reports, articles and statistics on various aspects of this Global Issue.
Circle of Blue
Source provides relevant, reliable, and actionable on-the-ground information about the world’s resource crises. With an intense focus on water and its relationships to food, energy, and health.
National Drinking Water Database
Database from the Environmental Working Group provides water quality analysis of almost 20 million records obtained from state water officials.
Freshwater Crisis
National Geographic site about freshwater resources and how they are used to feed, power, and sustain all life. See how the forces of technology, climate, human nature, and policy create challenges and drive solutions for a sustainable planet.