The University Libraries will try to obtain standards for UNM faculty, staff, and students use on a as-needed basis. In order to use this service, you must be currently affiliated with UNM. Contact your librarian for more information.
Identifying and tracking down standards can be a complicated process. Military and government standards are often available at no charge, but standards of other organizations generally involve a fee.
UNM subscribes to the following databases that have full-text access to standards. Our print collection also contains older, miscellaneous standards that can be found in our library catalog.
Search Engines for Standards
These specialized databases aggregate the collections of major standards developers worldwide and can help you quickly search a global library of standards. Searching these databases is free and is a good option to locate the standard you need. Once located, please contact your librarian to request the full-text standard.
A standard is a document, established by consensus, that provides rules, guidelines or characteristics for activities or their results (as defined in ISO/IEC Guide 2:2004). As a technical specification, it provides detailed information on how to design, manufacture, produce or manage a wide range of materials, products, systems or services.
Standards are important because they specify the size, shape, physical properties, and all other technical specifications for materials, tests, and products. Standards are used by a variety of people in a variety of ways including: