Books are useful for getting an overview of your topic and learning about the terminology used to describe your topic. While journal articles will have the latest research and developments, they are often focused on a very narrow aspect of a topic. Once you have the "big picture" you can then use the engineering databases (Articles tab) to find journal articles looking at a specific engineering problem.
The database has over 2.1 million full-text dissertations and theses. It also contains indexing of 3.8 million graduate works. Primarily US, UK and Ireland but increasingly from other countries. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress. Coverage: 1861-present.
The UNM Libraries organize books using Library of Congress call numbers. The Library of Congress classification code for civil engineering is the same for general engineering and is located on LL2 of the Centennial Science and Engineering Library::
TA 1-2040
Construction Project Management (6th Edition) by
A thoroughly updated edition of the classic guide to project management of construction projects For more than thirty years, "Construction Project Management" has been considered the preeminent guide to all aspects of the construction project management process, including the Critical Path Method (CPM) of project scheduling, and much more. Now in its Sixth Edition, it continues to provide a solid foundation of the principles and fundamentals of project management, with a particular emphasis on project planning, demonstrated through an example project, along with new pedagogical elements such as end-of-chapter problems. Also new to this edition is information on the Earned Value Analysis (EVA) system and introductory coverage of Building Information Modeling (BIM) and Lean Construction in the context of project scheduling.
Fracking: A Reference Handbook by
This book provides a background of the history and development of the oil and gas industry from the earliest days of human civilization to the present moment, with special attention on the history and development of hydraulic fracturing and directional drilling.
Handbook of Engineering Hydrology
While most books only examine the classical aspects of hydrology, the three-volume set covers multiple aspects of hydrology, and includes contributions from experts from more than 30 countries. It examines new approaches, addresses growing concerns about hydrological and ecological connectivity, and considers the worldwide impact of climate change. It also provides updated material on hydrological science and engineering, discussing recent developments as well as classic approaches.
Project Scheduling and Management for Construction
First published in 1988 by RS Means, the new edition of "Project Scheduling and Management for Construction" has been substantially revised for students enrolled in construction management and civil engineering programs. While retaining its emphasis on developing practical, professional-level scheduling skills, the new edition is a relatable, real-world case study that can be used over the course of a semester.
Energy Revolution by
Energy can be neither created nor destroyed but it can be wasted. The United States wastes two-thirds of its energy, including 80 percent of the energy used in transportation. So the nation has a tremendous opportunity to develop a sensible energy policy based on benefits and costs. But to do that we need facts not hyperbole, not wishful thinking. Mara Prentiss presents and interprets political and technical information from government reports and press releases, as well as fundamental scientific laws, to advance a bold claim: wind and solar power could generate 100 percent of the United States average total energy demand for the foreseeable future, even without waste reduction. To meet the actual rather than the average demand, significant technological and political hurdles must be overcome. Still, a U.S. energy economy based entirely on wind, solar, hydroelectricity, and biofuels is within reach. The transition to renewables will benefit from new technologies that decrease energy consumption without lifestyle sacrifices, including energy optimization from interconnected smart devices and waste reduction from use of LED lights, regenerative brakes, and electric cars. Many countries cannot obtain sufficient renewable energy within their borders, Prentiss notes, but U.S. conversion to a 100 percent renewable energy economy would, by itself, significantly reduce the global impact of fossil fuel consumption. Enhanced by full-color visualizations of key concepts and data, Energy Revolution answers one of the century's most crucial questions: How can we get smarter about producing and distributing, using and conserving, energy?
Water 4.0 by
The author starts by describing Water 1.0, the early Roman aqueducts, fountains, and sewers that made dense urban living feasible. He then details the development of drinking water and sewage treatment systems--the second and third revolutions in urban water. He offers an insider's look at current systems that rely on reservoirs, underground pipe networks, treatment plants, and storm sewers to provide water that is safe to drink, before addressing how these water systems will have to be reinvented. For everyone who cares about reliable, clean, abundant water, this book is essential reading.
Steel: A design, cultural and ecological history
Steel has, over centuries, played a crucial role in shaping our material, and in particular, urban landscapes. This books undertakes a cultural and ecological history of the material, examining the relationship between steel and design at a micro and macro level - in terms of both what it has been used to design and how it has functioned as a 'world-making force'. The research for the book is informed by diverse sources including industry journals, contemporary accounts and technical literature - all framed by rich, early accounts of iron and steel making from the middle ages to the opening of the industrial age, and most notably, the crucial works of Vannoccio Biringuccio, Georgius Agricola, Andrew Ure and Harry Scrivenor. In contrast, trans-cultural accounts of the history of metallurgy from eminent sinologists and cultural historians like Joseph Needham and G.E.R. Lloyd are used. Readings on the pre-history and history of science, as well as histories and philosophies technology from scholars such as Siegfried Giedion, Merritt Roe Smith, L.T.C Rolt, Robert B. Gordon inform the analysis. Social and economic history from historians such as Eric Hobsbawn, William T. Hogan and David Brody are consulted; labour process theory is also examined, particularly the influential writings of F.W. Taylor in the late 19th and early 20th centuries and his contemporary critics, like David Nobel and Harry Braverman. Many other disciples also inform the account: histories of urban design and architecture, transport and military history, environmental history and geography.
Principles of Highway Engineering and Traffic Analysis
The 5th edition of the Mannering's Principles of Highway Engineering and Traffic Analysis continues to offer a concise approach that covers all the necessary fundamental concepts. New features in this edition include updates and more consistency with the latest edition of the Highway Capacity Manual (HCM); the inclusion of sample FE exam questions, call-out of common mistakes; and added coverage on a qualitative description of the mechanistic approach.
