CSWR Resource Guide

A guide to the resources housed at the Center for Southwest Research and Special Collections

New Mexico Digital Collections (NMDC)

New Mexico Digital Collections offers a way for researchers and patrons unable to visit the CSWR in person to consult materials held in the collections. 

While in most cases researchers will probably want to search for collections at a particular repository, NMDC also has a "browse" function (located at the top right of the homepage) where users can filter results starting from all of the materials available in NMDC. This might be useful to get a starting point from a broad search term, or to get a sense of how many collections involve a particular individual. 

NMDC In Depth

Like the NMAO homepage, the home page of the New Mexico Digital Collections offers a search function that, by default, will look for search terms in all of the collections housed on NMDC. The map function offers a handy way of seeing where repositories lie geographically. 

Like NMAO, NMDC offers access to a large number of different repositories. Users can use the map function to see where these repositories are geographically. These links will also take users directly to the collections in each repository. 

Near the bottom of the NMDC home screen, users will find a listing of digital collections from various repositories and organizations under the umbrella of UNM, including the Center for Southwest Research and University Libraries. 

Clicking on any of these links will take the user to the collections organized by that repository or organization. Clicking on the CSWR and University Libraries link, however, brings up a new page with a list of collections. 

Because the CSWR holds a large number of collections, these are listed separately on the CSWR's NMDC page. Most of the CSWR's digitized collections consist of parts of photographic collections (indicated with PICT in the identifier), but parts of some manuscript collections have been digitized and made available as well. NMDC also makes available parts of the UNM university archives, including athletic department records, film, and video. 

Many of the CSWR's collection housed on NMDC will contain a landing page with a brief description of the collection's materials. Some of the collection landing pages will include links to other collections or resources as well.

Within the CSWR's collections users will see the collection materials organized alphabetically by title by default. Search filters are available on the left side of the screen to narrow down collection materials by creator, year, and other criteria. 

NMDC does allow downloading and printing of items in many cases. However, high quality downloads of materials are limited to patrons using NMDC while on campus at UNM or those who have an institutional affiliation with UNM and have logged in. 

Each digital item housed in NMDC includes several headings below the image identifying its creator, date created, date digitized, equipment used in digitizing, and other information. Importantly, this often includes copyright information or usage restrictions that may be of relevance to patrons who wish to use images in publications. 

Items housed in NMDC also usually include a link to the corresponding NMAO finding aid for the entire collection. Patrons should note that material available on NMDC typically does not reflect the entire physical collection. There is usually substantially more material that is not available digitally. 

Above is the NMAO finding aid page corresponding to the NMDC digital image on the previous tab. The finding aid will list more in-depth information about the material in the collection. 

NMDC offers patrons the ability to browse parts of the CSWR's collections from anywhere with an internet connection. However, patrons should take note that in many cases NMDC materials do not consist of entire pictorial collections. A researcher might be able to get a sense of the scope, time period, and themes of a particular pictorial collection from the parts of it available on NMDC, but would either need to arrange for the rest of the collection to be scanned, or come to the CSWR in person to peruse the rest of the collection. 

 

[Important note: the CSWR does provide for scanning and sending digital copies of photos, for a fee, to researchers unable to come to the Center in person. There are, however, some restrictions. Please contact the CSWR reference staff for more information.]