Research Guides: Alternatives Searching and Strategies for Animal Research Protocols: UNM Subscription Databases

UNM Subscription Databases

The University of New Mexico subscribes to a number of subject-specific and general science/health databases that contain information relevant to research in animal testing alternatives. These include major biology databases such as BIOSIS, Web of Science/Web of Knowledge, and databases for related subjects in the sciences.

Biosis Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Extensive research resource for life science and biomedical information. Content includes peer-reviewed journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and patents. Subjects include botany, zoology, microbiology, pharmacology, genetics, medicine, and more. Citation analysis tools are provided. Coverage 1926 to present
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The best resource for psychology related topics in journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage: 1887-present.
SciFinder-n (New platform) (UNM Only / Restrictions Apply) This link opens in a new window Comprehensive source for chemical information on the upgraded SciFinder-n platform. Locate journal articles, dissertations, patents, synthesis plans, spectra, and more. Can search by structure or physical property. Account required. Note: See the SciFinder Guide or contact Holly Surbaugh for details. Coverage 1907-present.
Account required. Note: See the SciFinder Guide or contact Holly Surbaugh for details.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others. 
Zoological Record (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Research resource for zoology and animal biology topics, including citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, and books. The leading taxonomic reference and unofficial register of animal or species names. Part of Web of Science. Coverage: 1864-present.

More databases from the library