To find books, use the search box on the library front page. This searches Worldcat, the library database of books and articles. Once you find a source or two that look really good, note the SUBJECT links in the detailed record. Follow these links to find other books with the same links. If you know exactly what you're looking for, try searching using quotes. For example, "Adrian Piper".
This link opens in a new windowThis database includes scholarly journal articles from a variety of international peer-reviewed journals covering art, architecture, and design. Coverage: 1880-present. Art Full-Text has been subsumed into this database.
If you are looking for exhibition reviews or other articles about artists, start with the subject-specific databases below:
Below are some general humanities databases where you can find many arts-related articles, or investigate other topics to inform your practice:
Think about:
You will find most books on art history in the Fine Arts & Design Library. Here is a key to the call numbers in FADL:
We've listed here some important works on art, theory, and culture. Some of these are located in FADL, and some are at Zimmerman Library. Any questions about finding a book you need, just ask!
Art, Perception, and Reality by 
Ways of Seeing by 
The Work of Art in the Age of Its Technological Reproducibility, and Other Writings on Media by If the UNM libraries don't have the item, we can get it for you through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). ILL services are available only to UNM students, faculty, and staff.
