Research Guides: Speech and Hearing Sciences: Home

Social Sciences Librarian

Liz Cooper

Email Me

Contact:

Zimmerman Library, 2nd Floor, Herzstein Latin American Reading Room, #296
Liz Cooper's Website

Subjects: Anthropology & Archaeology, Global and National Security Policy, International Studies, Linguistics, Political Science, Psychology, Public Health, Sociology, Speech & Hearing, Women & Gender Studies

LLBA - Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers research in linguistics, language, and the pathology of speech, language, and hearing. Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, and reviews of books and other media. Over 1,200 journals from 50 countries, with articles in 30 languages, are indexed. 1973 - present..

LLBA is a good place to start. For more database suggestions, click on the DOING SHS RESEARCH tab.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The premier resource for finding research literature in medicine, nursing, and related fields. Includes extensive peer-reviewed journal content as well as books, conference publications, and datasets. Use the embedded MeSH controlled vocabulary for targeted searching.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Great place to search for articles in the top journals related to the sciences and social sciences. Also has tools for citation analysis.

Atlas of North American English:Phonetics, Phonology and Sound Change by William Labov; Sharon Ash; Charles Boberg
Publication Date: 2006
The link above takes you to a multimedia website. Read the accompanying text here. Provides the first overall view of the pronunciation and vowel systems of the dialects of the U.S. and Canada. The Atlas re-defines the regional dialects of American English on the basis of sound changes active in the 1990s and draws new boundaries reflecting those changes.
Treatment of Stuttering: Established and Emerging Interventions by Barry Guitar; Rebecca McCauley
Call Number: Zimmerman Library, 3rd Floor, RC424 .T6984 2010
Publication Date: 2010
A comprehensive textbook and clinical reference for speech pathologists in all major intervention strategies for stuttering. Emphasizes evidence-based practice and includes critical comparisons of treatments and their valid implementation by clinicians.

Call numbers	Subject
BF 251	Hearing, Psychology
BF 455	Psychology of Language and Speech
BF 723 .C57	Child Psychology Communication
LC 4028	Language and Learning
LC 4201	Physically Handicapped Children - Education
P 118	Early Language Acquisition/Emergent Lexicon
P 217 - P 259	Phonetics
QM 251 - QM 265	Anatomy and Physiology of Speech
QM 507	Human Anatomy - Ear
QP 86 .K46	Physiology of Aging
QP 306	Physiology of Voice and Speech
QP 461 - QP 471	Neurophysiology - Hearing - Physiological Acoustics
RC 423	Communication Disorders
RC 424	Stuttering
RC 424.7	Articulation Disorders
RC 425	Aphasia
RF 110 - RF 285	Otology - Diseases of the Ear
RF 290 - RF 294	Audiology - Hearing Disorders
RF 294.5	Audiology - Special Tests and Methods
RF 298 - RF 310	Hearing Disorders - Instruments
RF 510 - RF 514	Diseases of the Larynx, Vocal Cords. Instrumentation
RF 540	Rehabilitation - Speech
RJ 496 - 497	Language and Communication Disorders in Children