Research Guides: 16th- &amp; 17th-Century English Literatures (Professor Greenberg): Shakespeare

The Folger Shakespeare
Open Edition: Full texts of Shakespeare’s plays, sonnets, and poems
Open Source Shakespeare
Open Edition: Contains Shakespeare's complete works
Internet Shakespeare Editions
Open Edition: From University of Victoria, Canada, open-access, peer-reviewed Shakespeare resources
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
Open Edition: From MIT in Boston, the Web's first edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare
The Shakespeare Quartos Archive
Open Edition: Digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays. Note: the project is no longer active, so the link goes to the archived site.
Manga Shakespeare Editions
Library Content: Digitized graphic novels of Shakespeare adaptations.
The Shakespeare Media Archive
Open Content: This site collects performances of Shakespeare's plays and poems - as well as other related resources - for classroom use.

Selected Books

ELH: English Literary History
English Literary Renaissance
JEMCS: Journal of Early Modern Cultural Studies
MaRDiE: Medieval and Renaissance Drama in England
Shakespeare Quarterly
Shakespeare Studies
Shakespeare Survey
Note: Available in print at UNM Zimmerman Periodicals PR2888 .C3. Article records indexed in MLA International Bibliography.

LUNA: Folger Digital Image Collection
According to the LUNA website, "Unless under non-Folger copyright, images from Luna are licensed
under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International License (CC BY-SA 4.0). Use of
Folger images under the CC BY-SA license does not require asking for additional permission, provided
that you cite the Folger Shakespeare Library as the source."
Shakespeare and the Players
You may use images from this site for educational purposes, such as our course. Be sure to include
credit for each image: [Identification of item], Shakespeare and the Players, Center for Digital
Scholarship, Emory University.
Victoria and Albert Museum
Directions for downloading images from this site may be found here. After you click to "Download image,"
check all five terms and conditions; then, choose "Private Research" from the drop-down menu. You must
include credit for each image: © Victoria and Albert Museum, London.
The British Museum
Like the Folger Shakespeare Library, "The British Museum wishes to encourage the dissemination and
use of information about our collection and expertise that we publish on our website. For this purpose, we
increasingly intend to release content on our website under a Creative Commons Attribution-
NonCommercial-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-NC-SA 4.0) licence." You must include credit for
each image: © Trustees of the British Museum.
Royal Academy of Arts
An artist led academy, focusing on the appreciation, understanding, and practice of art and architecture.

ARTstor on JSTOR (content and accounts moved to JSTOR)
ARTstor brings together images from museums and other collections around the world. To ensure proper
citation, use the features of "Tools," which you'll find near the top of the page. Click on "Tools;" in the
dropdown menu, select "Save citations for selected images;" once you've collected all your images, return
to the "Tools" dropdown menu and select "View and export citations."

Digital Theatre + (Plus)
Full-length streaming theatre productions and related teaching materials.

MIT Global Shakespeares
Online access to performances of Shakespeare from many parts of the world as well as essays and metadata provided by scholars and educators in the field

This page contains several types of resources: articles & blogs, podcasts, webinars, and other research resources.

Articles & Blogs

Discovering Literature: Shakespeare & Renaissance
From the British Library. Please note this is an archived copy of the website.
American Shakespeare Center Blog
"Shakespeare" Folger Shakespeare Library

Podcasts

Webinars

Other Research Resources

'Everything to Everybody' Project
From the first great Shakespeare library in the world, Birmingham’s Shakespeare Memorial Library is working to make their collection open access.
Shakespeare Association of America
Latinx Shakespeares
LatinxShakespeares.Org is an archive that includes reviews and ephemera from over 200 Latinx-authored and/or Latinx-themed Shakespearean productions and adaptations and over 100 Latinx-authored and/or Latinx-themed adaptations of other western classics staged in the United States over the last seventy-five years." Created and maintained by Carla Della Gatta.