Research Guides: Population Health (Rowland): Home

Finding Scholarly Sources (including review articles)

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Great for searching thousands of biomedical articles. Enter your search terms. Pay attention to the MeSH headings related to your search as you may need to use these to refine your search. When your results display, use the limits on the left side of the page to limit publication date to the last 5 YEARS and article type to REVIEW.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary collection of citations and abstracts for scholarly journal articles, proceedings, data sets, and other resources. Has a tool for citation analysis. Includes the Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, among others.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The best resource for psychology related topics in journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage: 1887-present.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
As sociologists study many public health issues, this database of sociology related articles is also a good place to search.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that includes NEWS, MAGAZINE ARTICLES, and SCHOLARLY ARTICLES.
Annual Reviews Electronic Journal & Archives This link opens in a new window
Small database consisting only of review articles for the sciences and social sciences.
Search for your keywords and consider limiting your search to the last 5 years. Use broad/general search keywords. Use the FULL TEXT version of the article for full functionality.
Available to UNM NetID holders only.

Education Related Databases

ERIC (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) includes scholarly articles, reports, curriculum and teaching guides and conference papers covering multiple levels of education from preK to higher education.
It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the United States Department of Education. Provides a more robust search interface of the freely available ERIC database. Coverage: 1966-present.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals and magazines covering all levels of education from early childhood to higher education on subjects including curriculum, administration, policy, multilingual education, health education and testing.

A Public Health Journal

American Journal of Public Health
This is ONE public health journal. You can search within the journal by clikcing on the "SEARCH WITHIN THIS PUBLICATION" link (it is a small link to the left of the screen). This will open a search page -- enter your keywords in the box below the journal title.

Finding Popular Magazines

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This great multidisciplinary database has POPULAR as well as scholarly sources and newspapers. To limit to just popular magazines, do your search and when your results display, click on the checkbox labeled MAGAZINES on the left side of the page under SOURCE TYPES.

Finding News Articles

New York Times (1980 - current) This link opens in a new window
Full text news articles from the New York Times. Enter your keywords. Consider limiting the dates to the last 5 years. Look at the subject headings assigned to some articles and check the boxes of terms that might be good for your topic and re-execute your search.