Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Photographs and Images: How to Cite an Image

UNM'S collection of photographs, postcards, slides, lithographs, etchings, engravings, and other pictorial documentation.

How to Cite an Image

When using an image from our pictorial collections please include the following information:

  • Description and date of image
  • Box and folder, or item number
  • Name and number of the collection
  • Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

 

Examples:

[caption (pictorial item number)], [collection name], Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

or

[pictorial item number], [collection title], Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

 

 Original hardcopy image:

“Sabine Ulibarrí teaching at UCLA, 1950” (PICT 000-561-0001), Sabine Ulibarrí Photograph Collection, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.

 

Image digitized by the CSWR and available on New Mexico Digital Collections:

“Skull helicopter, 2006” (PICT 2010-005-0013), Asamblea de Artistas Revolucionarios de Oaxaca Pictorial Collection, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico. http://econtent.unm.edu/cdm4/item_viewer.php?CISOROOT=/asamblea&CISOPTR=29&CISOBOX=1&REC=7

Pictorial Archivist

Profile Photo
Cindy Abel Morris
Contact:
Center for Southwest Research/Special Collections, Room 127B
505-277-0492