Research Guides: US Government Information Online: Best Starting Points

Top Library Databases on Government

CQ Press Electronic Library
Resources covering the United States government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes access to CQ Researcher Online, CQ Weekly, CQ Almanac, and Historic Documents Series.
HeinOnline
Access to law journals and other legal periodicals, federal publications (e.g. Federal Register), statutes, case law, treaties, historical legal documents, Canada and United Kingdom laws, and more. Provided by the UNM Law School Library.
Westlaw Campus Research
Access to federal & state court cases, annotated statues/codes, administrative law, and regulations. It also includes law reviews, local, national & international news sources, and trade journal. Coverage: 1790-present.
ProQuest Congressional
Collection of congressional documents, regulations, laws, legislative histories. Coverage: 1789-present.
PolicyMap
Visualize and map thousands of socioeconomic variables covering the United States (local to national). Create reports on specific Census geographies. Download reports, data, and maps. Coverage: 2000-present.
Social Explorer
Map various demographic and socioeconomic variables from United States Census, Statistics Canada, UK Data Centre, and Eurostat. Download maps/data. Coverage: 1790-present.
Users must create and log into your personal account on Social Explorer.

US Census Data
This site provides access to demographic and economic data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas.
American Memory from the Library of Congress
American Memory provides free and open access to the written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
Congress
Official website to all Congressional legislative activity
Data.gov
GPO Access
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.