Research Guides: Global Health: Articles & Journals

Key Health Literature Resources

Essential Databases
Global Health Journal Titles

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed database provides free access to MEDLINE, NLM's database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine,health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
Annual Reviews Electronic Journal & Archives This link opens in a new window
Searchable access to Annual Reviews titles, which publishes lengthy state-of-the-art reviews on science and social science topics including economics, psychology, and public health.
Available to UNM NetID holders only.
Gale OneFile: Health and Medicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing and allied health journals and a variety of personal health information sources.
Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at http://go.galegroup.com/ps/start.do?p=HRCA&u=nm_p_elportal
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
The best resource for psychology related topics in journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and reports. Published by the American Psychological Association (APA). Coverage: 1887-present.
Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
Allows simultaneous searching of Core indexes and MEDLINE (PubMed) via Web of Science. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching.
Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides acccess to research on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present.

Global Health Action It aims for concrete, hands-on approach to global health challenges by publishing research that addresses a global agenda and includes a strong implementation or policy component.
Global Health Governance The scholarly journal for the new health security paradigm (from Seton Hall U)
Global Health Promotion The official publication of the International Union for Health Promotion and Education (IUHPE). It is a multilingual journal, which publishes authoritative peer-reviewed articles and practical information for a world-wide audience of professionals interested in health promotion and health education.
Global Health: Science and Practice It aims to improve health practice, especially in low- and middle-income countries, by publishing current research and program experiences.
Annual Review of Public Health publication since 1980, covers significant developments in the field of Public Health, including key developments in epidemiology and biostatistics, environmental and occupational health, issues related to social environment and behavior, health services, and public health practice.
European Journal of Health Economics A highly scientific and at the same time practical oriented journal considering the requirements of various health care systems in Europe.
International Journal of Health Care Finance & Economics It focuses on on health care systems and on the behavior of consumers, patients, and providers of such services.
International Journal of Health Policy and Management A monthly open access, peer-reviewed journal which serves as an international and interdisciplinary setting for the dissemination of health policy and management research.
Journal of Public Health Policy A source of scholarly articles on the epidemiologic and social foundations of public health policy, rigorously edited, and progressive.

Public Health Journal List
List of Public Health journals and links to full-text at UNM

International News Sources

Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from international, national, and regional newspapers, newswires, and news sites. It includes access to major United States newspapers, such as, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1980-present.
WestLaw Campus Research: News This link opens in a new window
News, wire services, and transcripts from national and international sources. Includes Reuters, UPI, major television news outlets, and local business journals.Coverage: 1972-present.

Related Databases

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Economic research literature, primarily journal articles and working papers
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Articles on sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts database which focuses on social work, human services, social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1952-present.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Search scholar literature from many disciplines.
Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Key database of scholar and grey literature from around the world.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
Scholarly and popular publications on gender and the evolution of gender roles. Coverage: 1970-present.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides access to ethnic minority topics and viewpoints from journals, newspapers, reports, conference papers, and dissertations. Ethnic categories include African American/Caribbean/African, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian/Pacific Islander, European/Eastern European, Hispanic, Jewish and Native People.
Subject coverage: culture, religion, independent presses, ethnic studies, human rights, activism. Coverage: 1964-present.