Research Guides: Geography and Environmental Studies (GES): References, Atlas & Map Collections

Atlas & Map collections

Library of Congress' Map Collections
Provides 27 map collections covering historical aspecst of the United States. Also, a couple modern map collection via tools.
University of Texas: Libraries' Map Collection
The site includes the Perry-Castañeda collection, Latin American maps, and much more.

Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970
A uniform series of large-scale maps, depicting the commercial, industrial, and residential sections of some twelve thousand cities and towns in the United States. Various locations in New Mexico were mapped from 1891 to 1957, print versions are in MAGIC.
Today, the Sanborn maps are often used for historic research of buildings and neighborhoods. Coverage: 1867 to 1963.

The SAGE Handbook of Historical Geography (2021)
The reference provides an international and cross-disciplinary overview of the field, presenting chapters that examine the history, present condition and future potential of the discipline in relation to recent developments and research.
International Encyclopedia of Human Geography (2020)
This reference provides factual information, historical perspectives, theoretical approaches, reviews of literature, and provocative topical discussions that will stimulate creative thinking.
Historical Gazetteer of the United States (2005)
This resource offers the student, researcher, or traveller a handy guide to find all the most important events that have occurred in most locality with each U.S. State and territories.
The Columbia Gazetteer of the World (1998)
Call Number: MAGIC: G103.5 C65 1998

This gazetteer provides a complete A-Z reference source for anyone seeking information about the places of the world. It covers the political world, the physical world and special places such as national parks and monuments.

Dictionary of Abbreviations and Acronyms in Geographic Information Systems, Cartography, and Remote Sensing (PDF)
Resource last updated in 2016
Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names® Online
The Getty Thesaurus of Geographic Names ® (TGN), The Art & Architecture Thesaurus ® (AAT), and the Union List of Artist Names ® (ULAN) are structured vocabularies that can be used to improve access to information about art, architecture, and material culture.

Geography (2008)
This short book paints a broad picture of the current state of geography, its subject matter, concepts and methods, and its strengths and controversies.
Borders (2024)
The short book challenges common perceptions of borders as merely lines on maps or physical barriers snaking across the landscape. Instead, borders are shown to be powerful forces integral to the economic, social, political, and environmental processes that shape our lives.
Biogeography (2020)
This short book explains how our ability to place life in an explicit geographic context is key to understanding our natural world. The geological evolution of Earth has fundamentally influenced its life forms.