EndNote Online: A Beginner's Guide

Importing references from various literature databases is a timesaver.  By importing references you do not have to copy/paste record details or retype record details. Only the records are imported NOT the articles (see side box).  There are two ways to import references:

• Direct import from a literature database (see below)
  
• A few databases allow for a quick export of information on articles to EndNote Basic.
• Direct import databases
  
• Web of Science
  
• All EBSCO databases (e.g. Academic Search Complete, Business Source Complete)
  
  
• Two-step import from a literature database (see below)
  
1. Download a file that contains an article's record content to your desktop
2. Upload this file to EndNote Basic
   

As mentioned above you can easily import records from Web of Science databases and EBSCO databases.  Below are videos for each database.  It is best to login to EndNote Basic prior to importing any records.  Open a second tab for the database.

• Web of Science direct import (video: 2:02 )
  • Import one record: At the top of the article record select Send to EndNote online
     
  • Multiple records: Check the box next to each item and then select Send to EndNote online at the top of the page.

• EBSCO databases direct import import (video: 2:12)
  • Import one record:
    1. On the right side of an EBSCO article record select Export
    2. Select Direct Export to EndNote Web
    3. Save (record is sent to EndNote Basic)
        
  • Multiple records
    1. Check the box next to each article you want to save, they are placed in the folder
       1. You may place records from multiple searches in the folder
    2. Select the Folder icon, top right of screen
    3. Select all the records you want to send to Endnote Basic
    4. Select Export on the right side
    5. Select Direct Export to EndNote Web
    6. Save (records are sent to EndNote Basic)

Even though many databases do not provide a direct import for EndNote Basic you can still import article records, though the process has an extra step.  Instead of sending the file directly to EndNote Basic you need to...

1. Download a file that contains an article's record content from a database to your desktop
   • multiple records can be in one file
2. Set your import filters in EndNote Basic (one-time)
3. Upload this file to EndNote Basic

NOTE1: You want to download RIS files (e.g. citation.ris), there are a few exceptions*.
NOTE 2: No reason to open the file on your desktop.

Setting up and examples

• Setting your import filters in EndNote Basic (video: 1:20 min)
   
• Importing records from ProQuest databases (video: 2:38 min)
   
• Importing records from JSTOR (video: 1:48 min)

*Import filters - there are three main import filters for importing. 

• RefMan RIS is the most prevalent
• EndNote Import for most other files
• PubMed (NLM) for records from PubMed

You may add a reference using the blank form in EndNote.

1. Select Collect tab >> New Reference
2. Select the Reference Type (e.g. journal article) drop-down menu, this will change the form
3. Input the necessary reference information

NOTE: This is useful for web pages and reports.