Research Guides: Company & Industry Research: Industry Reports & Ratios

Industry Reports

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Detailed national and global industry reports that provides a narrative of the industries, performance, outlook, along with infographics, industry financial ratios, stats, etc. Reports are updated every 6-12 months.

Industry Reports by MarketLine
These reports in Business Source Complete cover many industries. NOTE: Add a industry term in the second search box. The country default is the United States, but you may change it.

Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business news, industry information, and company information including history, chronology, and rankings. Coverage: 1990s-present.
Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at http://bi.galegroup.com/essentials/?u=nm_p_elportal
First Research (D&B) This link opens in a new window
General overview of hundreds of industry, along with profiles of state and province, and call prep sheets. Updated quarterly.

Deloitte Industries (free)
These brief industry guides provide insights and analyses across an array of diverse industries,

Key Business Ratios (D&B) This link opens in a new window
Industry financial ratios from Dun & Bradstreet that provide industry benchmarks. Data is aggregated from public and private companies. Coverage: last five years.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Industry financial ratios are part of most IBISWorld reports
WRDS (register for an account) This link opens in a new window
Data research platform and business intelligence tool. Use the platform to access Compustat, CRSP, and other datasets covering multiple disciplines, including Finance, Marketing, and Economics. Now includes Financial Ratios Suite by WRDS for industry and company level. Must register to access data.
Access provided by Anderson School of Management

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, marketing, and organizations from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also, includes current company, industry, and country reports from third parties. Coverage 1820-present.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from international, national, and regional newspapers, newswires, and news sites. It includes access to major United States newspapers, such as, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1980-present.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business news, industry information, and company information including history, chronology, and rankings. Coverage: 1990s-present.
Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at http://bi.galegroup.com/essentials/?u=nm_p_elportal

S&P Industry Surveys
PML Investment: HG4661 S769
This reference tracks more than 50 North American industries and 10 Global Industries. (sample survey)

Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios
Call Number: HF5681 R25 A45
PRINT resource provides standard financial ratios computed from the IRS's statistical sampling of the tax returns of all corporations. The reference book is arranged by NAICS code.

County Business Patterns (US Census)
An annual series that provides sub-national (state, county, MSA, city, zipcode) economic data by industry. Select data on the left side.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The BLS is "the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy."
NM Department of Workforce Solutions
NM state statistics on labor force and economics.