Research Guides: Company & Industry Research: Articles: Companies & Industries

Reports & News on Companies

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, marketing, and organizations from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also, includes current company, industry, and country reports from third parties. Coverage 1820-present.
Factiva This link opens in a new window
This Dow Jones database contains news from thousands of international, national, and local newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. It also includes transcriptions from major radio and television news organizations. Plus, it has investment, company, industry, and country reports.
Factiva is only for individual and academic research. Text mining is prohibited.
Global Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Articles from international, national, and regional newspapers, newswires, and news sites. It includes access to major United States newspapers, such as, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, and Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1980-present.
WestLaw Campus Research: News This link opens in a new window
News, wire services, and transcripts from national and international sources. Includes Reuters, UPI, major television news outlets, and local business journals.Coverage: 1972-present.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Business news, industry information, and company information including history, chronology, and rankings. Coverage: 1990s-present.
Community researchers in New Mexico can access this resource at http://bi.galegroup.com/essentials/?u=nm_p_elportal

Social Media Tools

LinkedIn Use this online social network site to find information on private company size, key company employees and new hires.
Jigsaw The site provides an online business directory of company information and more than 9 million business professionals.
VBProfiles The venture site includes company profiles of Internet startups that give management information, board of directors information, products and/or services produced, funding information and competitors.
Glassdoor The site offers the world an inside look at jobs and companies with anonymous info from employees about various aspect of company/organization.