Research Guides: Climate Change: Start Your Research

Or,

Submit a Question! - we'll reply by email
Send us a text! - Our SMS number is 505-431-4711. We'll respond by text ASAP (while we're open!). All your usual data rates and policies apply.
Chat with Us! - when we're online, you'll find the chat icon on every page.

Key Databases

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Books and articles on a wide range of topics related to the environment, including agriculture, renewable energy sources, pollution and waste management, and more. Coverage: 1880-present.
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
Scholarly research literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. Includes peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, reports, and more. Coverage: 1935-present.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Access to articles and other publications focusing on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and governments. Coverage: 1898-present.
Climate Science and Sustainability: Global Origins of Modern Environmentalism, 1957-1995 This link opens in a new window
Translated journal articles and reports cover the earth sciences, environmentalism, and sustainability during the second half of the 20th century. Subset of Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, 1957-1995.
Gale OneFile: Environmental Studies and Policy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journals, magazines, and other reference sources
Zoological Record (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Research resource for zoology and animal biology topics, including citations and abstracts for peer-reviewed journals, proceedings, and books. The leading taxonomic reference and unofficial register of animal or species names. Part of Web of Science. Coverage: 1864-present.
SciELO Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Searchable collection of open access scientific peer-reviewed journals and books from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, Portugal, and South Africa. Subjects include life sciences, earth sciences, medicine, engineering, agriculture, social sciences, and more. NOTE: Contains English, Spanish, and Portuguese language content. Part of Web of Science.
Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
AGRICOLA now called USDA National Agricultural Library This link opens in a new window
Open access catalog from US National Agricultural Library (NAL), which searches all content in the NAL library: peer-reviewed journals, books, theses, technical reports, patents, software, and audiovisual materials.
Subject coverage includes all core topics of the agricultural sciences: plant sciences, animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, forestry, aquaculture, environmental sciences, natural resources, sustainable agriculture, agricultural economics and policy, nutrition, and related research.
Western Waters Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Public access to a wide range of significant resources on water in the western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material. Coverage: 1800s-present.
Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
An index of scholarly articles and books. Look for the Find@UNM link to access the full-text articles in University Libraries subscription databases. For books check the library catalog.
Google Scholar will link to some--not all--of the online resources to which the University Libraries subscribes. Use the "Check full text @ UNM" link to see if the resource is available through a UNM subscription. It may also be helpful to look up the journal or citation through UNM eJournals tool.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Articles on business, management, marketing, and organizations from scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications. Also, includes current company, industry, and country reports from third parties. Coverage 1820-present.

Selected Scholarly Journals

Nature Climate Change
Nature Climate Change is a monthly peer-reviewed scientific journal covering all aspects of research on global warming, especially its effects.
Climatic Change
Climatic Change is a biweekly peer-reviewed scientific journal covering cross-disciplinary work on all aspects of climate change and variability.
Global Environmental Change
Global Environmental Change is a peer-reviewed international journal about the human and policy dimensions of global environmental change.
Annual Reviews of Environment and Resources
The Annual Review of Environment and Resources provides authoritative reviews of significant topics within environmental science and engineering, including ecology and conservation science, water and energy resources, atmosphere, oceans, climate change, and human dimensions of global change.

Web Resources

U.S. Global Change Research Program (GlobalChange.gov)
USGCRP conducts state-of-the-art research to understand the interactive processes that influence the total Earth system, which includes the atmosphere, oceans, land, ice, ecosystems, and people. Use their website to explore reports, data, multimedia, and other information by region, state, theme, and other facets.
National Climate Assessment 2018
USGCRP conducts a comprehensive national climate assessment every four years, the most recent of which was released in May 2018. Access the full NCA report as a downloadable PDF or a dynamic online version.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
IPCC is the leading international body for the assessment of climate change. IPCC prepares comprehensive assessment reports about the state of scientific, technical and socioeconomic knowledge on climate change, its causes, potential impacts, and response strategies. The most recent assessment report (AR5) was released in four parts between September 2013 and November 2014. AR6 is anticipated in 2022.
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) Fifth Assessment Report (AR5)
Landmark IPCC report on the current state of scientific knowledge relevant to climate change, providing "rigorous and balanced scientific information to decision makers. By endorsing the IPCC reports, governments acknowledge the authority of their scientific content. The work of the organization is therefore policy-relevant and yet policy-neutral, never policy-prescriptive.” Earlier reports (AR1-AR4) were issued in 1990, 1995, 2001, and 2007.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Climate Change Website
The EPA provides a quality resource for basic science information on climate change impacts.
U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Climate.gov
NOAA provides timely and accurate information and data about climate. On this site, find reports, maps, data, tools multimedia, and other resources designed to support informed decisions about climate risks, vulnerability, and resilience.
NOAA National Centers for Environmental Information Reports
Access NOAA climate monitoring reports online. For example, the State of the Climate is a collection of monthly summaries recapping climate-related occurrences on both a global and national scale.
Climate Change at the National Academies
This website provides access to reports and convening activities of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine related to climate change. Research encompasses the natural sciences, social sciences, health sciences, transportation, and the international realm in an effort to support policy- and decision-making by answering specific questions through rigorous, independent, and evidence-based processes.
Climate Central
Access the research of an independent organization of scientists and journalists reporting on climate change and its impact on the public.
Center for Climate and Energy Solutions (C2ES)
Formerly the Pew Center on Global Climate Change, C2ES is an influential nonprofit, nonpartisan organization working on practical solutions to climate change. Access their publications on climate science, policy, energy, technology, and sustainable business.

Related Library Research Guides

Earth & Planetary Science
by Amy Jankowski Last Updated Aug 27, 2024 65 views this year
Geography and Environmental Studies (GES)
by Amy Jankowski Last Updated Aug 27, 2024 58 views this year
Sustainability Studies
by Amy Jankowski Last Updated Aug 21, 2024 124 views this year
Sustainability
by Todd Quinn Last Updated Sep 20, 2023 280 views this year

Climate Change

Meet with a Librarian

Key Databases

Selected Scholarly Journals

Background Information Sources

Web Resources

Related Library Research Guides