Research Guides: Nutrition 424: Nutrition Through the Life Cycle: Articles

Best Databases for Nutrition Research

Nutrition is an interdisciplinary topic, the research of which can delve into life sciences as well as social sciences and other related fields. The best database for your research will depend on your specific research topic and interests. No single database searches across all information sources, so it is recommended that you try to research your topic in more than one of the platforms linked below.

PubMed This link opens in a new window
The PubMed database provides free access to more than 30 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medical and health sciences fields, including nutrition. Use a simple search or MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) for more targeting subject searching.
Off campus must use the UNM Find Article icon to gain access to UNM subscriptions, and requires NetID and password.
Web of Science: All Databases This link opens in a new window
Allows simultaneous searching of Web of Science (including Science Citation Index and Social Science Citation Index), Biosis (Biological Abstracts), and Zoological Record. Provides coverage of current literature and cited reference searching in science, engineering, and the social sciences, with comprehensive coverage of the biological literature. Coverage varies by database.
Biosis Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Life science research information and citation indexing from journals, books, reports, meetings, and patents. A subset database accessible through the Web of Science platform.
Embase This link opens in a new window
A biomedical research literature database that is also useful in building comprehensive systematic reviews for evidence-based medicine decisions.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) provides full text access to nursing and allied health literature and information, including evidence-based care sheets.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This multidisciplinary resource contains access to scholarly journals, book reviews, magazine articles, newspaper articles, books, videos, and trade publications in English and a wide variety of other languages. Coverage: 1887-present
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covering sport, exercise, fitness, sports medicine, biomechanics, and other related disciplines. Contains scholarly journals and other scholarly works dating to 1800, as well as dissertations, theses, and references to articles written in 60 world languages. Coverage: 1985-present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains nearly two million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology.
PubAg This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles related to the agricultural sciences. Subjects include nutrition, food safety & quality, animal & crop production & protection, natural resources, sustainable agricultural systems, rural development, agricultural economic & policy issues, and agricultural statistics.
Managed by the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s (USDA) National Agricultural Library.

Find even more databases to search by browsing through the full database lists maintained by both the UNM Main Campus Libraries and the UNM Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center (HSLIC).

UNM Main Campus Libraries: Complete Database List
Browse the UNM Main Campus Libraries' database list by subject or database title.
Health Sciences Library & Informatics Center: Complete Database List
Browse the full list of health sciences databases maintained by UNM's HSLIC.