Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

UNM History: Archival Collections

A guide to primary and secondary sources about the history of UNM.

Select Archival Collections

James Fulton Zimmerman Papers, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.  UNMA 008

The James Fulton Zimmerman Papers contain correspondence, administrative records, legislation and other documents from the New Mexico State Legislature regarding the funding of the University, other federal and state government documents, records of civic organizations, and photographs.  It also contains the Seal of the University and correspondence related to it.

Calvin Horn Papers, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.  UNMA 108

The Calvin Horn Collection has two series. The first is material from Mr. Horn's personal companies, Horn Oil Company and book publishing companies Calvin Horn Publishing and Horn & Wallace Publishing.  The second series is historical University of New Mexico material that Mr. Horn used to write his book, The University in Turmoil and Transition: Crisis Decades at the University of New Mexico (located under ZIM LD 3781 N52 H67). The materials are arranged into subseries relating to the research of the book or the publication of the book. Included in this second series are information regarding faculty issues as sabbaticals, tenure, and regent/faculty conflicts and concern, information on presidential searches, and various scandals at the University such as the the "Love-lust poem" of 1969 and "Lobogate", the NCAA investigation into UNM basketball in the mid to late 1970s. There are several files of photographs of the May 1970 strike and the New Mexico National Guard on campus.

Elias Stover Papers, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.  UNMA 001

Clarence Herrick Papers, UNMA 002.   William Tight Papers, UNMA 003Edward Gray Papers, UNMA 004David Ross Boyd Papers, UNMA 005.

The records in these early UNM Presidential collections include Board of Regents' correspondence, land lease and inventory information, building construction and architectural materials including correspondence and blue prints, department files, from the College of Arts and Sciences, College of Engineering and College of Education; also offices of the President, Vice-President and Dean of Students, faculty files, financial data, scattered committee minutes and policy information, fraternity/sorority, Associated Students, and ROTC files, athletics files, official publications, and diaries.

University of New Mexico Alumni Association Records, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.  UNMA 128.

This collection contains material related directly to the Alumni Association of the University of New Mexico as well as other materials, mainly historical, gathered by the Association. Alumni Association materials include: minutes and correspondence of the board; alumni club information; homecoming minutes and correspondence, events sponsored by the Alumni, Alumni Lettermen's Association, photographs and memorabilia, Alumni Memorial Chapel history, and Alumnus magazine files. Other material collected by the Alumni Association include commencement, programs and photographs and various files related to student life. There is also a collection of video tapes, created mainly in-house, related to University of New Mexico history.

UNM Associated Students Records, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico. UNMA 109.

In addition to containing the records of the Student Council, Student Senate, and Student Court, the ASUNM collection also contains records of the committees of the ASUNM and of other student groups. Of particular interest are the files of the Film and Fiesta Committees located in box 14 and the Popular Entertainment Committee located in boxes 15-16. The Popular Entertainment Committee brought many outstanding musical groups, comedians, and other entertainers to UNM between 1968 and 1989.

UNM Athletics Department Records, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.  UNMA 106.

This collection contains records, minutes, budget information, audits, academic reports, photographs, film reels and miscellany of the University of New Mexico (UNM) Athletics Dept. It is divided into 5 series:

Series 1: Administrative records contains annual reports, Lobogate documents and news clippings, department programs, policies and procedures, meeting minutes, audits, budgets, facilities reports. There are individual records, meeting minutes and correspondence for the Lobo Club, the NCAA, Title IX, the Border Conference, Skyline Conference, and the Western Athletic Conference.

Series 2: Photography: Contains photos of athletic competitions and oversize photographs of various athletes.

Series 3: Films/Tapes. A variety of UNM games on film from 1947-2002.

Series 4: Scrapbooks, posters, memorabilia from Lobo sports.

Series 5: Media guides and programs which includes programs of competitions, schedules, contracts, statistics and photographs.

UNM Public Affairs Department/Communication & Marketing Records, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.  UNMA 047.

The Public Affairs Department of UNM dates back to July 1, 1946. It originated as the UNM News Bureau during the administration of University President John Wernette and its first director was former Baltimore Sun copy editor Keen Rafferty. The mission of the Bureau was to “tell the University’s story to the general public” and it was responsible for distributing press releases to newspapers, press associations, and radio stations. This collection contains the records of the Public Affairs Department of the University of New Mexico. It holds press releases, news clippings, photographs, correspondence, articles, pamphlets, invoices, newsletters, programs, scripts, and videotapes.

Michael Welsh Manuscript Collection, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.  UNMA 169.

The Michael Welsh collection contains unpublished chapters from his unfinished history of the University of New Mexico. Several chapters have two copies of the manuscripts. Other chapters contain a draft as well as a completed version. The early years of the university up until the early 1940s are covered in Welsh's manuscript.

Women's Studies Oral History Collection, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.  UNMA 178.

The collection contains audio recordings of 10 interviews with people related to development of the Women’s Studies Program and the Women’s Center at the University of New Mexico. The interviews discuss the origins and development of the programs, some of the obstacles faced, and the personalities involved. The interviews were originally recorded on cassette tapes, and the material has been converted to CDs for better access. Transcripts for the interviews are not available.

UNM Facilities Planning / Physical Plant Department Records, Center for Southwest Research, University Libraries, University of New Mexico.  UNMA 028

Files for the Dept. of Facility Planning and Office of the University Architect are combined in this collection. The collection contains information related to buildings, property or development of the University of New Mexico. The material is collected primarily from the University Architect's office and the University Secretary's office. There is material in this collection that predates the creation of the University Architect's Office. Folders pertaining to particular buldings are a good resource for finding dates of initial construction, costs, contractors, architects, locations, etc. Campus building numbers are included where available. These numbers do not change over years,although the function of the building may. Dates for buildings reflect occupation date, not the initial construction date

NMAO

The New Mexico Archives Online (NMAO) is your source of information about archival collections in New Mexico.  Specialized guides, called finding aids, give detailed descriptions of primary source materials located at 19 different repositories. Search the finding aids to discover what historical materials are available for study and where those collections are located.

A complete list of materials related to the history of University of New Mexico can be found through NMAO by doing a search and filtering your results to "UNM Center for Southwest Research & Special Collections."